Favorites Edit

Sardar to lead Indian hockey team in Champions Trophy

976   //    05 Nov 2012, 19:29 IST

New Delhi - Sardar Singh will be leading the Indian hockey team in the International Super Series and 34th men’s Champions Trophy in Australia, Hockey India (HI) announced Monday.

The 18-member team including six stand-byes were selected after trials at SAI Centre, Netaji Subhas Institute of Sports in Patiala Oct 25-27.

The trials were witnessed by selectors Balbir Singh, B.P. Govinda and Thoiba Singh as well as government observer Harbinder Singh and chief coach Michael Nobbs.

The International Super Series, that also features England, Australia and Pakistan, will be played in Perth Nov 22-25. India will open its campaign against England Nov 22 followed by matches against Australia and Pakistan.

The Champions Trophy will be held in Melbourne at the State Netball Hockey Centre Dec 1-9.

India are in Pool A with England, Germany and New Zealand while hosts Australia, Belgium, Netherlands and Pakistan are in Pool B.

India will open its campaign against England (Dec 1) followed by matches against New Zealand (Dec 2) and Germany (Dec 4).

The squad:

Goalkeepers: P.R. Sreejesh, P.T. Rao.

Fullbacks: V.R. Raghunath (vice-captain), Rupinderpal Singh, Harbir Singh.

Half-backs: Sardar Singh (captain), Kothajit Singh, Birendra Lakra, Manpreet Singh, Gurmail Singh.

Forwards: S.V. Sunil, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Danish Mujtaba, S.K. Uthappa, Nithin Thimmaiah, Yuvraj Walmiki, Dharamvir Singh, Akashdeep Singh.

Stand-byes: Srenivas Rao (goalkeeper), Amit Rohidas (defender), M.B. Aiyappa (halfback), Chinglensana Singh, Pradhanna Sommanna, P.L. Thimmanna (all forwards).

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...