ISL Golden Boot

Last Modified Nov 24, 2021 17:12 IST

Igor Angulo of FC Goa team won the ISL Golden Boot for scoring a total of 14 goals in the 2020-21 season.

ISL Golden Boot Winners

SeasonGolden Boot WinnerNationalityTeamGames PlayedGoals ScoredAssistsMinutes Played
2020-21Igor AnguloSpainFC Goa211401645
2019-20Nerijus ValskisLithuaniaChennaiyin201561620
2018-19Ferran CorominasSpainFC Goa171671502
2017-18Ferran CorominasSpainFC Goa201851730
2016Marcelo Leite PereiraBrazilDelhi Dynamos151051271
2015Stiven MendozaColombiaChennaiyin FC161331206
2014ElanoBrazilChennaiyin FC1181826

Ferran Corominas

The Spanish striker has been the top scorer in the ISL for two seasons running and his stunning tally of 33 goals in two seasons has seen him jump to the top of the ISL goalscorers chart. Since joining FC Goa in 2017, Coro has been one of the most potent attackers in the country and will look to carry on from where he left off last season, as last season's semi-finalists look to win their maiden ISL crown. After winning the Golden Boot in the 2017/18 season as well as in 2018/19, Coro will look to seal an elusive hat-trick of top-scorer awards as he aims to spearhead FC Goa's title charge once again.

Marcelo Pereira

Marcelinho was the talisman for the erstwhile Delhi Dynamos in his solitary season at the club and the Brazilian striker's goalscoring exploits in the 2016 edition of the ISL earned him the Golden Boot that year. The veteran attacker considers himself as a wide forward and received widespread praise from manager Gianluca Zambrotta for his skill and experience.

Stiven Mendoza

Despite spending a solitary season in the Indian Super League, Stiven Mendoza has etched his name into ISL folklore and his tally of 13 goals for Chennaiyin FC in 2015 earned him the Golden Boot that year. With Chennaiyin trailing in the ISL final with three minutes to spare, Mendoza famously scored a last-gasp winner to seal the title for his side. He has since them moved on and represented a handful of clubs across Europe and currently plays for Amiens.


During the league's inception in 2014, Brazilian midfielder Elano was signed as the marquee player by Chennaiyin FC and he hit the ground running immediately. In his time at the club, Elano was one of the best players in the division and went down as a firm fan favorite, with his tally of 11 league goals earning him the Golden Boot in the inaugural edition of the ISL. The former Manchester City midfielder also captained his side and will be fondly remembered by the Chennaiyin faithful for his time at the club.

ISL or the Indian Super League is a men's professional football league in India. It is one of the top football leagues of the country and although it was introduced very recently, it holds a reputation comparable to I-League, which was established 11 years ago.

The major reason behind ISL’s success is it's unique tournament structure. ISL was designed on the lines of NFL or the National Football League of the USA and Indian Premier League. ISL was founded on 21st of October, 2013 and there have been four seasons played, so far, with the first season being played in 2014 and the 2018-19 season being the last.

In the world of football, the Golden Boot is awarded to the highest goalscorer of the tournament. And just like any other football league across the globe, ISL too has the Golden Boot award in its inventory which is awarded to the top scorer at the end of the tournament. In case of a tie in the number of goals scored, the assists are taken into account.

In the unlikely scenario of a deadlock in the assist count too, the number of minutes played comes into play. The player who has played less number of minutes wins the Golden Boot.