Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

NASCAR Xfinity results at Atlanta: Kyle Busch holds off Brad Keselowski for win

Kyle Busch continued his dominance in the NASCAR Xfinity Series Saturday in Atlanta.

News 05 Mar 2017, 08:07 IST
Kyle Busch
Kyle Busch

Kyle Busch continued his dominance in the NASCAR Xfinity Series Saturday in Atlanta, capturing the checkers in the Rinnai 250 for yet another win in the second-tier series. 

Busch, who was racing with a number of drivers also in the Cup race Sunday, took the lead on a restart with 16 laps remaining and was able to hold off Brad Keselowski by carefully maneuvering around lapped traffic for the win.

"To get second is kissing your sister but it is still better than nothing I guess," Keselowski told reporters after the race. "Kyle and I had a great battle there at the end. It was just a matter of kind of catching the breaks in traffic and making the right moves. I thought we were a tiny bit faster than Kyle but I kept catching traffic in the wrong spot."

The victory was Busch's second in a row at the 1.54-mile Georgia track and his 87th in 329 starts, extending his own series record.

Busch didn't have much time to celebrate in victory lane since he's driving in the Truck Series race later Saturday but here's what he had to say after the win. 

Keselowski won the first 40-lap stage with Kevin Harvick taking the next 40-lap phase. Could we see more of the trio battling it out on Sunday? All three drivers are starting in the top five for the Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500.

Complete unofficial results from the Rinnai 250
(Start position in parentheses)

1. (1) Kyle Busch

2. (3) Brad Keselowski

3. (4) Kyle Larson

4. (12) Kevin Harvick

5. (22) Elliott Sadler

6. (13) Darrell Wallace Jr.

7. (2) William Byron

8. (17) Austin Dillon

9. (6) Daniel Hemric

10. (8) Cole Custer

11. (11) Brennan Poole

12. (7) Matt Tifft

13. (9) Brendan Gaughan

14. (30) Brandon Jones

15. (18) Michael Annett

16. (19) Corey Lajoie

17. (14) Ty Dillon

18. (10) Ryan Reed

19. (15) Aric Almirola

20. (5) Denny Hamlin

21. (23) Dakoda Armstrong

22. (28) Ryan Sieg

23. (33) Brandon Brown

24. (35) Harrison Rhodes

25. (24) Ross Chastain

26. (32) Jeff Green

27. (29) Garrett Smithley

28. (21) Spencer Gallagher

29. (36) Ray Black Jr.

30. (16) Justin Allgaie

31. (37) Joey Gase

32. (38) David Starr

33. (31) Timmy Hill

34. (39) Chris Cockrum

35. (34) Clint King

36. (20) J.J. Yeley

37. (27) Jeremy Clements

38. (40) Stephen Leicht

39. (26) Jordan Anderson

40. (25) Blake Koch

Fetching more content...