Favorites Edit

5 players who have won multiple Ballon D'ors

Shruti Pandey
Top 5 / Top 10
30.91K   //    Timeless

Clinching the Ballon D’or is a massive achievement for any footballerBallon D’or or the ‘Golden Ball’ in French was first awarded in 1956 by the French Football Association. Till 1995, it was awarded only to European players but later on players playing for European clubs were also included.In 2009, FIFA World Player of the Year and Ballon D’or were combined to make it the FIFA Ballon D’or which has been shared by only two players since its inception; Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.Let us take a look at those gifted football players who have won the prestigious award, more than once.

#5 Marco Van Basten

Marco Van Basten
Marco Van Basten is renowned for his iconic bicycle kicks

The list is followed by yet another Dutchman who had his career cut short following an injury which forced him to retire prematurely at 30. He won the Ballon D’or thrice in 1988, 89 and 92.

He had a prolific goal scoring career as a forward with 300 goals in his account. Basten started his glorious journey with Ajax and made a move to AC Milan in 1987. In his first season, he scored 19 goals in Serie A and also won the European Cup. He continued his amazing run in the next year and went to win Ballon D’ors in 1988 and 1989.

When Fabio Capello took over, Basten started to regain his touch and went on to win the Serie A. He scored a whopping 29 goals and claimed the Ballon D’or once again in 1992. Basten also became the first player to score four goals in a Champions League match.

He was frequently seen scoring volleys and bicycle kicks. The maverick striker was equally adept in shooting with both the left and right foot.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Shruti Pandey
Ardent sports fan, mainly football.
Fetching more content...