New User posted their first comment

6 Iconic winners of WTA Finals

Modified 02 Nov 2015, 21:18 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

#2 Serena Williams: 5 titles

Serena  Williams WTA Finals 2014
Williams won the title last year; she is on hiatus from tennis for the remainder of this year following the US Open

There is perhaps no tournament which the World No. 1 Serena Williams has not dominated. The ageless competitor that she is, Serena has been winning this elite event since 2001. However, the American’s second win came after quite a gap – in 2009 – and since then, she has added another three titles in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Interestingly, the 21-time major winner’s first win in 2001 came under the most unusual circumstances as Lindsay Davenport withdrew from the final due to a right knee injury that she sustained in her semi-final. That made Serena the first ever player to be crowned the WTA Finals champion on her maiden appearance. Out of the four finals that Williams have played, she has lost a set only once – in 2013 to Li Na.

Serena Williams’ titles

2001 Serena Williams def Lindsay Davenport walkover
2009 Serena Williams def Venus Williams 6–2, 7–6(7–4)
2012 Serena Williams def Maria Sharapova 6–4, 6–3
2013 Serena Williams def Li Na 2–6, 6–3, 6–0
2014 Serena Williams def Simona Halep 6–3, 6–0


Published 01 Nov 2015, 16:14 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit