South Africa Women's Cricket


Nick NameProteas

Team Owner(s)Cricket South Africa

Prominent PlayersDane van Niekerk


Trisha Chetty Wicketkeeper Right Handed 33
Sinalo Jafta Wicketkeeper Left Handed 26
Lizelle Lee Batsman Right Handed 29
Laura Wolvaardt Batsman Right Handed 22
Mignon du Preez Batsman Right Handed 32
Tazmin Brits Batsman Right Handed 30
Chloe Tryon Batsman Right Handed 27
Lara Goodall Batsman Right Handed 25
Marizanne Kapp All Rounder Right Handed 31
Dane van Niekerk All Rounder Right Handed 28
Sune Luus All Rounder Right Handed 25
Nadine de Klerk All Rounder Right Handed 21
Shabnim Ismail Bowler Right Arm 32
Ayabonga Khaka Bowler Right Arm 29
Masabata Klaas Bowler Right Arm 30
Tumi Sekhukhune Bowler Right Arm 22
Nondumiso Shangase Batsman Right Handed 25
Nonkululeko Mlaba Bowler Left Arm 21

The South Africa Women’s Cricket Team, also known as Proteas Women’s Cricket Team is the official team of South Africa in the ICC Women’s Championship. It is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC). It is run by Cricket South Africa (CSA).

The South African Women’s team has been one of the oldest international women’s teams. The South African nation was taken off the cricket map from May 1970 to June 1991 due to its government's policy of apartheid, a racist policy, according to which, they played only against the white nations (England, Australia, New Zealand), and fielded only white players. This team has ranked achieved a rank higher than 6th in the ICC Women’s Rankings.


South Africa Women’s Cricket Team became a full member of the ICC in the year 1909. Their first ever international match was a Test match against England at St. George’s Park Cricket Ground, Port Elizabeth from 2 to 5 December 1960. South Africa got a first innings lead of 24 runs and then set England a target of 285 runs. England managed to score 202/4 before the match ended in a draw.

They played their first WODI 17 years after their first Test. They played their first WODI against Ireland at Stormont, Belfast on 5 August 1997. South Africa scored 175 in their designated 50 overs. Ireland batters weren’t as good and they were all out for 82 with more than 15 overs to spare. South Africa Women won their first WODI by 93 runs.

A strong New Zealand Women’s Team faced South Africa Women’s Team in the latter’s first T20I at Taunton on 10 August 2007. The Kiwis set a mammoth 187 as the target. South African batters could not handle the pressure and were bundled out for 89, thus losing the match by 97 runs.

South Africa participated in the Women’s World Cup six times, Women’s World T20 six times including the ongoing tournament in the Caribbean islands, once in the ICC Women’s Championship, thrice in the Women’s World Cup Qualifier, once in the ICC Women’s ODI Cricket Challenge and once in the ICC Women’s T20 Cricket Challenge.


The Proteas Women’s team reached the semi-finals of the Women’s World Cup twice and the Women’s T20 World Cup once. They won the Women’s World Cup Qualifier in 2008 and the ICC Women’s ODI Cricket Challenge in 2010.

They are currently ranked 6th in the ICC Women’s Rankings.

Current Squad

The South Africa Women’s squad for the ICC Women’s World T20 is:

Player NameRole
Dane van Niekerk (c)All-rounder
Moseline DanielsBowler
Yolani FourieBowler
Marizanne KappAll-rounder
Lizelle LeeWicketkeeper
Zintle MaliBowler
Tumi SekhukhuneBowler
Laura WolvaardtOpening batter
Trisha ChettyWicketkeeper
Mignon du PreezTop-order batter
Shabnim IsmailBowler
Masabata KlaasBowler
Sune LuusAll-rounder
Robyn SearleBatter
Chloe TryonAll-rounder

Coach: Hilton Moreeng

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now