New User posted their first comment

South Africa Women's Cricket


Nick NameProteas

Team Owner(s)Cricket South Africa

Prominent PlayersDane van Niekerk


Elriesa Theunissen-Fourie All-rounder Right Handed 27
Trisha Chetty Wicket Keeper Right Handed 32
Sinalo Jafta Wicket Keeper - 26
Yolandi Potgieter Batsman Right Handed 31
Dane van Niekerk Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 27
Nonkululeko Mlaba Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 20
Alison Hodgkinson Batsman Right Handed 43
Alexis le Breton Middle Order Batsman Right Handed 35
Nondumiso Shangase All-rounder Right Handed 24
Savanna Cordes Wicket Keeper Right Handed 26
Yolani Fourie Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 31
Lizelle Lee Batsman Right Handed 28
Tazmin Brits Wicket Keeper Right Handed 29
Shabnim Ismail Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Masabata Klaas Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 29
Nadine de Klerk Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 20
Shandre Fritz All-rounder Right Handed 35
Ayabonga Khaka Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 28
Jana Nell Wicket Keeper Right Handed 30
Andrie Steyn Batsman Right Handed 24
Susan Benade All-rounder Right Handed 38
Laura Wolvaardt Batsman Right Handed 21
Bernadine Bezuidenhout Wicket Keeper Right Handed 27
Zintle Mali Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 26
Sunette Loubser All-rounder Right Handed 38
Dinesha Devnarain Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 32
Nadine Moodley Opening Batsman Right Handed 30
Odine Kirsten All-rounder Right Handed 26
Marizanne Kapp Batsman Right Handed 30
Sune Luus Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 24
Yolandi van der Westhuizen Wicket Keeper Right Handed 39
Nonkhululeko Thabethe Batsman Right Handed 28
Marcia Letsoalo Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 36
Moseline Daniels Bowler Left Arm Medium Seam 30
Stacy Lackay Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 26
Lara Goodall Batsman - 24
Tumi Sekhukhune Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 22
Chloe Tryon Bowler Left Arm Medium Seam 26
Mignon du Preez Batsman Right Handed 31
Raisibe Ntozakhe Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 24

The South Africa Women’s Cricket Team, also known as Proteas Women’s Cricket Team is the official team of South Africa in the ICC Women’s Championship. It is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC). It is run by Cricket South Africa (CSA).

The South African Women’s team has been one of the oldest international women’s teams. The South African nation was taken off the cricket map from May 1970 to June 1991 due to its government's policy of apartheid, a racist policy, according to which, they played only against the white nations (England, Australia, New Zealand), and fielded only white players. This team has ranked achieved a rank higher than 6th in the ICC Women’s Rankings.


South Africa Women’s Cricket Team became a full member of the ICC in the year 1909. Their first ever international match was a Test match against England at St. George’s Park Cricket Ground, Port Elizabeth from 2 to 5 December 1960. South Africa got a first innings lead of 24 runs and then set England a target of 285 runs. England managed to score 202/4 before the match ended in a draw.

They played their first WODI 17 years after their first Test. They played their first WODI against Ireland at Stormont, Belfast on 5 August 1997. South Africa scored 175 in their designated 50 overs. Ireland batters weren’t as good and they were all out for 82 with more than 15 overs to spare. South Africa Women won their first WODI by 93 runs.

A strong New Zealand Women’s Team faced South Africa Women’s Team in the latter’s first T20I at Taunton on 10 August 2007. The Kiwis set a mammoth 187 as the target. South African batters could not handle the pressure and were bundled out for 89, thus losing the match by 97 runs.

South Africa participated in the Women’s World Cup six times, Women’s World T20 six times including the ongoing tournament in the Caribbean islands, once in the ICC Women’s Championship, thrice in the Women’s World Cup Qualifier, once in the ICC Women’s ODI Cricket Challenge and once in the ICC Women’s T20 Cricket Challenge.


The Proteas Women’s team reached the semi-finals of the Women’s World Cup twice and the Women’s T20 World Cup once. They won the Women’s World Cup Qualifier in 2008 and the ICC Women’s ODI Cricket Challenge in 2010.

They are currently ranked 6th in the ICC Women’s Rankings.

Current Squad

The South Africa Women’s squad for the ICC Women’s World T20 is:

Player NameRole
Dane van Niekerk (c)All-rounder
Moseline DanielsBowler
Yolani FourieBowler
Marizanne KappAll-rounder
Lizelle LeeWicketkeeper
Zintle MaliBowler
Tumi SekhukhuneBowler
Laura WolvaardtOpening batter
Trisha ChettyWicketkeeper
Mignon du PreezTop-order batter
Shabnim IsmailBowler
Masabata KlaasBowler
Sune LuusAll-rounder
Robyn SearleBatter
Chloe TryonAll-rounder

Coach: Hilton Moreeng

Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit