West Indies Women Cricket


Full NameWest Indies Women Cricket

Nick NameWindies

Team Owner(s)Cricket West Indies


The West Indies Women’s Cricket Team, also known as Windies Women’s Cricket Team is a combined team of players hailing from the various island nations in the Caribbean. This team competes in the international cricket tournaments for the women. It is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

This squad is an emerging squad which has shown a lot of promise after winning the most recent Women’s World T20 tournament. Like their male counterparts, they have not been able to bring consistency in their performances.


This team has been competing at the highest level since the year 1976. Their first ever international match was a Test against Australia from 7 to 9 May 1976 in Jarrett Park, Montego Bay. The match was drawn with only West Indies completing their first innings.

In the first ICC Women’s World Cup held in the year 1973, Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago which now are a part of West Indies, participated separately. The Windies women squad played their first Women’s One Day International (WODI) on 6 June 1979 against England at Lensbury Sports Ground in London. England Women quite comfortably beat the West Indies side in the 55-over match with 8 wickets in hand and 21 balls to spare.

West Indies Women played their first ever WT20I against Ireland at Kenure, Dublin on 27 June 2008. Ireland Women were no match for the Windies team as they were comprehensively beaten by 75 runs.

So far, they have participated in five Women’s World Cups, five Women’s World T20s (including the ongoing tournament) and one ICC Women’s Cricket Challenge. They have had to play a couple of Women’s World Cup qualifiers. They have now emerged to be a better team and now qualify directly for the biggest event in Women’s cricket.


The West Indies Women’s Cricket Team were runners-up in the 2013 ICC Women’s World Cup. In the Women’s T20 World Cup, they were semi-finalists in the 2010 as well as 2012 season. They continued their stellar form and won the 2016 edition beating Australia by 8 wickets.

They also won the only ICC Women’s Cricket Challenge held in 2010. They are currently ranked 5th in the ICC Women’s Rankings.

Current squad

The Windies Women’s squad for the ICC Women’s World T20 is:

Player NameRole
Stafanie Taylor (c)All-rounder
Merissa AguilleiraOpening batter
Shemaine CampbelleMiddle-order batter
Shamilia ConnellBowler
Britney CooperMiddle-order batter
Deandra DottinAll-rounder
Afy FletcherBowler
Chinelle HenryBatter
Kycia KnightWicketkeeper
Hayley Matthews (vc)Opening batter
Natasha McLeanTop-order batter
Anisa MohammedBowler
Chedean NationAll-rounder
Shakera SelmanBowler

Support staff

Team Manager: Eugena Gregg

Head Coach: Hendy Springer

Assistant Coach: Gus Logie

Physiotherapist: Marita Marshall

Strength and Conditioning Coach: Shayne Cooper

Team Psychologist: Olivia Rose Esperance

Team Analyst: Gary Belle

Team Media Officer: Nassira Mohammed

Fetching more content...