Favorites Edit

2019 Australian Open, Day 2: Schedule and Order of Play

Jose Thomas
1.39K   //    14 Jan 2019, 18:42 IST

Novak Djokovic
Novak Djokovic

The 2019 Australian Open got off to a rousing start as top guns Roger FedererRafael Nadal, Marin Cilic, Maria Sharapova etc. registered easy wins in their first-round matches. There were a couple of upsets in the Men's Singles category as John Isner and Kyle Edmund were knocked out of the tournament on day 1 itself. India's Prajnesh Gunnewaran also lost his first Grand Slam match to Francis Tiafoe in straight sets. 

Day 2 will have over 60 matches across all the 25 courts and the action will begin at 11 AM AEDT (5:30 AM IST). Day 2 will be featuring the top seeds from both men and women, Novak Djokovic and Simona Halep, Sascha Zverev, Serena Williams, Dominic Thiem, Karolina Pliskova, to name a few.

In the first match at the Rod Laver Arena, USA's Madison Keys will take on local favourite Destanee Aiava after which arguably the greatest athlete to grace the sport, Serena Williams, the 16th seed, will be in action as the former World number 1 will be facing off against German Tatjana Maria. The last match of the day session on the court will see fourth seed Zverev taking on Aljaz Bedene.

The night session will get underway with two-time defending Grand Slam champion Djokovic up against Mitchell Krueger of USA before Japan's Naomi Osaka up against on Polish challenger Magda Linette to finish off the proceedings on Day 2.

Kei Nishikori, Venus Williams, Simona Halep, and Dominic Thiem will be in action on Margaret Court Arena while Karolina Pliskova, the returning Victoria Azarenka, Borna Coric, Milos Raonic and the local favourites Samantha Stosur and Nick Kyrgios will take the court at Melbourne Arena.

Exciting matches on day 2 of the 2019 Australian Open: 

Sascha Zverev vs Aljaz Bedene

Nick Kyrgios vs Milos Raonic

Stan Wawrinka vs Ernests Gulbis


Lucas Pouille vs Mikhail Kukushkin

Guido Pella vs Joao Sousa

You can find the full schedule of day 1 of 2019 Australian Open here.