Favorites Edit

DSPORT acquires exclusive India Broadcast Rights for New Premier Tennis Tournament, Laver Cup

Press Release
741   //    18 Sep 2017, 16:55 IST

Laver Cup Team Announcement
The stars of Tennis are set to line up for the Laver Cup

DSPORT, a premium sports TV channel by Discovery Communications India, has acquiredtheexclusive India broadcast rights of the inaugural edition of the eagerly awaited Laver Cup. The new premier tennis tournament, conceived on the lines of golf’s‘Ryder Cup’ will see tennis legendsfrom Europe battle it out against a star-studded Rest of the World team. The Laver Cup willbe broadcast LIVE & Exclusive on DSPORT from 4:30 PM onwards on September 22 & 23and 3:30 PM onwards on September 24, 2017for sports fans in India.

The Laver Cup will be played every year, two weeks following the US Open, except in the Summer Olympic years. The city of Prague, in the Czech Republic will play host to the first edition of the three-day tennis extravaganza.The tournament will feature the current top two in men’s tennis, legends Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal who will team up with Dominic Thiem, Alexander Zverev, Marin Cilic and Thomas Berdych to take on a rest of the world team that comprises of rising superstar Denis Shapovalov, former US Open Champion Juan Martin del Potro, Nick Kyrgios, John Isner and Sam Querry.

The Laver Cup, is named after Australian tennis legend Rod Laver, widely regarded as one of the greatest in the history of the sport. The Laver Cup is a joint initiative between tennis great Roger Federer’s management company Team 8, Brazilianbusinessman and former Davis Cup player Jorge Paulo Lemann, the USTA and Tennis Australia. For the inaugural edition of the Laver Cup, tennis legends John McEnroe and Bjorn Borg will captain Team World and Team Europe Respectively.

Laver Cup – The Teams

Team Europe: Björn Borg - Captain, Thomas Enqvist - Vice Captain, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Alexander Zverev, Marin Cilic, Dominic Thiem, Tomas Berdych

Team World: John McEnroe - Captain, Patrick McEnroe - Vice Captain, Sam Querrey, John Isner, Nick Kyrgios, Jack Sock, Juan Martin del Potro, Denis Shapovalov

Laver CUP – The Telecast Schedule LIVE & Exclusive

Friday, 22nd September 2017: 4:30 PM Onwards

Saturday, 23rd September 2017: 4:30 PM Onwards

Sunday, 24th September 2017: 3:30 PM Onwards

Topics you might be interested in:
Press Release
Fetching more content...