Daniil Medvedev could become the first non-Big 3 player since Andre Agassi to win back-to-back Major titles

Daniil Medvedev won the 2021 US Open against all odds
Daniil Medvedev won the 2021 US Open against all odds
Rudra Biswas

Andre Agassi was the last man to win consecutive Grand Slam titles before Federer, Nadal, and Djokovic - the Big 3 of tennis - began to dominate the tour. Daniil Medvedev could become the first player outside the Big 3 to win two consecutive Grand Slams since Andre Agassi in 1999-2000.

The Russian, who is seeded second at this year's Happy Slam, will be looking to emulate the eight-time Major winner in Melbourne. Agassi won the US Open in 1999 and the Australian Open in 2000.

2 - Daniil #Medvedev has won the US Open 2021: the last player other than #Federer, #Nadal and #Djokovic to secure back-to-back Grand Slam titles was Andre Agassi (US Open 1999 and Australian Open 2000). Target.#AustralianOpen2022 #AustralianOpen

Last year, Daniil Medvedev sent shock waves through the tennis universe as he upset World No. 1 Novak Djokovic to clinch his maiden Grand Slam title at the US Open.

Medvedev's victory at Flushing Meadows quashed Djokovic's dreams of moving past Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal in the Grand Slam titles race as well as achieving the Calendar Slam.

Daniil Medvedev played a flawless match from start to finish as he dismantled the World No. 1 in straight sets. Although Medvedev has not won a big title since then, he still arrives at the 2022 Australian Open as one of the favorites to win the tournament. The Russian could achieve a significant milestone if he manages to lift the trophy at the end of the fortnight.

Andre Agassi made a comback and won two consecutive Major titles

Off Court At The 2018 Australian Open
Off Court At The 2018 Australian Open

Towards the end of 1997, Agassi was in the worst shape of his career, having dropped out of the top 100 of the ATP rankings. However, the American enjoyed a resurgence and returned to the top 5 after nearly two years of hard work.

In 1999, Andre Agassi won a Grand Slam title once again as he reigned supreme at Roland Garros. The American's best, however, was yet to come as he won his second US Open title that year, rising to No. 1 in the men's rankings. Agassi followed it up with another title at the 2000 Australian Open - a tournament he went on to win two more times - in 2001 and 2003.

Andre Agassi kisses the winners trophy at the 1999 US Open
Andre Agassi kisses the winners trophy at the 1999 US Open

It should be noted that Agassi had already won two consecutive Grand Slam titles back in 1994-95. Apart from Agassi and the Big 3, Pete Sampras, Rod Laver, Bjorn Borg, Jimmy Connors, John McEnroe, Ken Rosewall, Boris Becker, Mats Wilander and Jim Courier have also won two or more consecutive Grand Slams.

Also Check Out: What is Andre Agassi Net Worth in 2022?

Edited by Sarbajaya Bhattacharya
Article image

Go to article

Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now