Nick Kyrgios calls out chair umpire's handling of disputed line call resulting in Mikael Ymer's outburst and disqualification from Lyon Open

Nick Kyrgios calls out chair umpire
Nick Kyrgios calls out chair umpire's handling of the Mikael Ymer incident

Nick Kyrgios has criticized the chair umpire's handling of the controversial line call incident which led to Mikael Ymer's outburst and subsequent disqualification from the 2023 Lyon Open.

On Wednesday, May 24, Ymer led 4-3 in his opening set against Arthur Fils in the second round of the ATP 250 event. After successfully fending off three break points in the ninth game, the Swede failed to capitalize on a set point in the following game.

With the scores level at 5-5, a controversial incident took place as Ymer served at 30-30 when Fils' return was adjudged to have landed safely. The proximity of the ball to the line was called out by the Swede who claimed the ball had bounced long.

Despite Ymer's impassioned requests, the chair umpire declined to leave his seat and inspect the mark on the court, stating that it was too late to challenge the call.

"Yesterday I hit a serve against Gasquet, he walked over to the other side and he was still allowed to ask for a mark to be checked. I hit this ball, and you're telling me you're not even gonna come down and check the mark?" Ymer said.
"I have never witnessed that a ref says: I'm not gonna come down and check the mark. It doesn't happen," he added.

Ymer was ultimately broken in the same game, leaving him infuriated. He unleashed his anger on the umpire's chair, damaging it by striking it repeatedly with his racket, crushing the racket as well.

Ymer's reaction brought the tournament supervisor to the court and resulted in the Swede's immediate disqualification from the tournament.

Commenting under a clip of the incident on social media, Nick Kyrgios empathized with Ymer and called out the chair umpire for refusing to check the mark.

"Typical umpire not doing their job correctly. All he has to do was just check the mark, regardless," he wrote on Instagram.

Rohan Bopanna also expressed a similar sentiment under the post.

"Very true what Mikael is saying. Me also can't believe why the chair umpire does not go down to check the mark," Bopanna commented.
Nick Kyrgios and Rohan Bopanna's comments
Nick Kyrgios and Rohan Bopanna's comments

Bianca Andreescu seeks Nick Kyrgios' expertise after failed tweener attempts

Nick Kyrgios playing a tweener at the 2021 Wimbledon Championships
Nick Kyrgios playing a tweener at the 2021 Wimbledon Championships

While gearing up for the upcoming French Open, Bianca Andreescu took to social media to share a video montage of herself attempting and failing to hit a tweener. She then sought out trick-shot artist Nick Kyrgios for advice.

"Send help @NickKyrgios," she tweeted.

Kyrgios, who is currently not in action on the tour due to an injury, paid heed to the 22-year-old year's request and offered some advice.

"You have to let the ball drop a little more," he replied.

Quick Links

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee
App download animated image Get the free App now