Williams, Agassi and Rafter to headline Singapore Slammers at International Premier Tennis League

Press Release
Modified 26 Sep 2014
Singapore Slammers have a good team going into the IPTL

25 September, 2014 (Singapore) – Tennis fans and entertainment seekers can look forward to seeing tennis superstars Serena Williams, Andre Agassi, and Patrick Rafter teaming up with the Singapore Slammers for the Singapore leg of the inaugural International Premier Tennis League (IPTL), which is set to liven up the Singapore Indoor Stadium from 2 to 4 December, 2014.

The second stop of the four-city tour – sanctioned by the ATF – promises a dose of exciting sporting competition with the Singapore Slammers vying for top honours and a US$1 million prize purse against the Manila Mavericks, Indian Aces and UAE Royals.

The IPTL brings together NBA-style entertainment and world-class tennis, featuring the best current and past ATP & WTA champions in a team tennis competition from 28 November until 13 December 2014. A star-studded line-up of 24 champions has committed to play in Singapore. In addition to current World Number 1 Serena Williams, Andre Agassi, and Patrick Rafter, notable players include Tomas Berdych, Daniela Hantuchova, Bruno Soares, Lleyton Hewitt, Nick Kyrios, Ana Ivanovic, Eugenie Bouchard, Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, Gael Monfils, Richard Gasquet, Goran Ivanisevic, and Carlos Moya.

‘Breaking the Code’ of traditional tennis, the IPTL introduces a five single-set match format where every set features a different player in a different category (men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, mixed doubles and past champions singles). The unique scoring system – in which every game counts, and the team that wins the most games from the five sets, wins the match – is only one of many special features to keep the intensity of the tournament up, until the last point.

“I wanted to bring new ideas and innovations to tennis and expose the best players to parts of Asia which have traditionally not been featured in the tennis calendar; by creating a shorter match format, we aim to attract new fans to our sport. Secondly, for the first time, broadcasters are able to schedule matches and announce player line-ups, while fans are able to see the biggest past and present stars up close and personal, all within a three-hour match play,” said Mahesh Bhupathi, Founder and Managing Director of the IPTL.

“The rapidly increasing interest in tennis in the region is great for the sport and we are really excited to have the franchise for the next 10 years. We aim to make this a mainstay in the Singapore sporting calendar, providing world-class ‘sportainment’ while working collaboratively with key local partners to develop tennis in the Republic, by encouraging take-up of the sport through our franchise” said Vikas Gehlot, CEO and Owner of the Singapore Slammers.

The IPTL is set to kick off on 28 November in Manila before moving to Singapore (2-4 December), Delhi (6-8 December), and culminating in the UAE (11-13 December).

Tickets go on sale at Sports Hub Tix from 25 September, 2014 at the following outlets:

1. Sports Hub Tix Website (from 9am):

2. Sports Hub Tix Box Office* (inside Singapore Indoor Stadium, 2 Stadium Walk, 397691)

3. Sports Hub Tix Hotline* +65 6333 5000 or +65 3158 7888

4. Sports Hub Tix Outlets* at all SingPost locations

*Tickets from the Box Office, via Hotline, and SingPost outlets will be available from 10am on the same day.

Fans are able to enjoy up to 20% Early Bird discounts on tickets purchased prior to 25 October 2014, from the above-mentioned channels.

About International Premier Tennis League (IPTL)

The International Premier Tennis League brings together current champions, tennis legends and upcoming talent in a format that’s never been seen before. Created to fulfill the increasing demand for top-level tennis in Asia, it’s the first city-based professional league in the world, played across four countries.

Over 80 players participated in the official draft held on 2nd March 2014 in Dubai, drawn by the League’s innovative and competitive format. A total of 29 players were added to the 4 franchise teams from the Philippines, Singapore, India and the UAE.

The IPTL matches are played between star-studded teams, featuring the likes of Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Serena Williams, Andre Agassi and Pete Sampras. The tournament will feature a total of 21 Grand Slam Champions and 14 current and former World Number Ones from 28 November to 13 December, 2014, the teams will play a total of 24 matches in a league format to determine the inaugural IPTL League Champion.

Modelled after successful sports franchise concepts, the IPTL combines world-class sports and entertainment in a format that keeps both, spectators and TV viewers completely engrossed.

Additional Information on the IPTL can be found at:

• Website:

• Facebook:

• Twitter:

About the Singapore Slammers

The Singapore Slammers is an all-star team comprising some of the best current and past professional tennis players. Led by current world no. 1 Serena Williams and 8-time Grand Slam Champion Andre Agassi, the Slammers aim to provide world class entertainment while working collaboratively with key partners to help raise the profile of tennis in Singapore.

Joined by doubles partners Tomas Berdych, Daniela Hantuchova and Bruno Soares, the Singapore Slammers also include Australian tennis legends Patrick Rafter and Lleyton Hewitt with up-and-coming star Nick Kyrgios completing the eight-person lineup.

Additional Information on Singapore Slammers can be found on – 



Twitter: @SgSlammers

Instagram: Singapore Slammers

ANNEX A: Ticketing Details

Ticket Type





Cat 1


Cat 2


Cat 2

Cat 3

Early Bird


Till 25 October,








Early Bird


Till 25 October,








Public Sales


Please Contact:





Public Sales






Published 25 Sep 2014
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now