Create & Earn
Favorites Edit

Spain names Davis Cup final squad

756   //    06 Nov 2012, 16:37 IST
BNP Paribas Masters - Day Seven

PARIS, FRANCE – NOVEMBER 04: David Ferrer of Spain in action against Jerzy Janowicz of Poland during the Mens Final on day 7 of the BNP Paribas Masters at Palais Omnisports de Bercy on November 4, 2012 in Paris, France.

Madrid, Nov 6 – The captain of the Spanish Davis Cup tennis team Alex Corretjia has named his four-man team for the final of the competition which Spain will play in the Czech Republic between Nov 16-18.

With Rafael Nadal still unavailable due to injury, Correjia has named a team consisting of David Ferrer, Nicolas Almagro, Marcel Granollers and Marc Lopez with Feliciano Lopez as a reserve, reports Xinhua.

Ferrer, who won the Paris Masters Series Sunday, will play singles along with Almagro, while Granollers and Lopez will form the doubles pairing.

The Spanish are aiming for their sixth David Cup title as the defending champions, after winning last year’s edition of the international team tournament.

The Spanish have won the Davis Cup in 2000, 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2011, winning six of the nine finals they have competed in.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...