⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

4 Grand Slam trophies named after tennis legends

Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 19:59 IST

# Musketeers’ Cup 

11-time French Open Champion with the Musketeers Cup, 2018
11-time French Open Champion with the Musketeers Cup, 2018

The Musketeers’ Cup (La Coupe des Mousquetaires in French) is awarded to the winner of the men’s singles event of the French Open. The cup was awarded for the first time in 1981 and pays tribute to the four Musketeers of French tennis: Jean Borotra, Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet, and René Lacoste.

A silver bowl bordered along with vine leaves at the top and embellished with two swan-shaped handles, the trophy is placed on a marble base in which is inscribed the names of all the winners since 1891.

The then French Tennis President - Philippe Chatrier, a revolutionary tennis administrator had a grand vision to incorporate the achievements of the 4 great French tennis players of the early 20th century. He commissioned the making of the Trophy in 1981. The actual trophy is kept at the museum of the French Tennis Federation and is taken out only once a year. It weighs about 14 kg. Every year a replica is produced taking over 100 man hours to delicately carve the masterpiece. The winner takes home the replica trophy.

Published 22 Nov 2018, 23:42 IST
Fetching more content...