⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

5 wrestlers who won the WWE Championship once

Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 14:56 IST

Eddie Guerrero won the WWE Championship once only
Eddie Guerrero won the WWE Championship only once

The WWE Championship is perhaps the most respected and prestigious titles in professional pro wrestling today. It has been in existence for a long time and has changed hands several times. Many wrestlers have won the title multiple times and have created an impact which will be cherished forever.

However, there are a few wrestlers who won the title only once but have generated the impact which others have failed to do even after several title reigns. Throughout their single reign, they have created feuds, rivalries which the world admires even today.

Here are 5 such wrestlers who, despite winning the WWE title only once is still remembered by the WWE Universe till date.

#5 Jeff Hardy

Hardy is a former WWE Champion
Hardy is a former WWE Champion

The tag 'extreme' is probably synonymous with Jeff Hardy. Throughout his career, he has gifted us several moments and championship reigns which one can never ignore or overlook. Whether it is jumping from the 18-foot height ladder, or winning the Tag team championship multiple times, Hardy has achieved what other superstars dream of obtaining over decades. However, he won the WWE title only once and had created an impact none will forget ever.

At the Armageddon PPV in 2008, Hardy competed and won the WWE Championship against Edge and Triple H in a triple threat match. Shortly after becoming the champion he suffered an injury owing to pyrotechnics during his entrance. Fans enjoyed his entrance and considered him as their hero. He proved himself to be a daredevil and fighting champion.

However, he went on to lose the title against Edge at Royal Rumble, following the interference from his brother. This created a feud between him and Matt Hardy and as a result, he was sidelined from the Championship picture.

Though he could never win the title again till date, his short stint as the WWE Champion is still arguably one of the best reigns ever.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 18 Feb 2018, 00:45 IST
Fetching more content...