Roman Reigns' US Title win at Clash of Champions marks an interesting statistic for The Shield

The Shield proves to be a dominant faction
The former Shield members are still at the top of the WWE
Chris Featherstone

For the past few months, WWE has decided to relegate former WWE World Champion Roman Reigns to a mid-card babyface, with just a few instances of main event exposure. After winning the WWE World Championship for the third time at WrestleMania against Triple H, Reigns lost it just two an a half months later to a returning Seth Rollins. Shortly after, Reigns commenced a feud with then-United States Champion Rusev. At SummerSlam, the match was deemed a no-contest, due to Rusev being attacked and unable to compete.

At the inaugural Clash of Champions Raw-exclusive pay per view, Reigns had another opportunity to win the US Championship for the first time. After a highly-energetic match, Reigns came out the victor, and commenced he first reign as champion. Interestingly, this cemented a statistic for all three members of the Shield, Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins, and Dean Ambrose – every single member has now won the WWE World Championship, as well as the United States Championship.

Dean Ambrose


Dean Ambrose was the first person to win singles gold as a member of the Shield, when he defeated Kofi Kingston to win the US Championship at Extreme Rules in May of 2013. He held the championship for 351 days, making him the longest-reigning US Champion in WWE history. Three years later, he would win the Money in the Bank match and cash in the briefcase the same night, winning his first WWE World Championship after defeating Seth Rollins.

Seth Rollins


Rollins would win both championships in the same year, with 2015 being arguably his most successful year of his entire career. Similar to Ambrose, he would win his first WWE Championship by cashing in his Money in the Bank contract. Only this time, he waited 10 months later to cash it at the ‘Grandest Stage of them All’, WrestleMania 31, pinning Roman Reigns during his attempt to dethrone Brock Lesnar. He would then defeat John Cena at SummerSlam of the same year in a title vs. title match, holding both championships at once.

Roman Reigns


Roman Reigns was the last and latest Shield member to achieve the same accomplishment as his former comrades. His road to this achievement was similar to Seth Rollins, as he held the WWE World Championship first, then won the United States Championship. Reigns’ first WWE World Championship reign came after defeating Dean Ambrose in the tournament finals at Survivor Series 2015, only to lose it to Sheamus seconds later. He would regain it three weeks later on an episode of Raw in a title vs. career match, losing it six weeks later in the second ever Royal Rumble match where the world title was on the line. He regained it from Triple at at WrestleMania 32. As seen on the Clash of Champions event, he won the US Championship by defeating Rusev.

Unique Statistic

Interestingly, the Shield has been one of the most successful factions in WWE history, with each member making their main roster debut less than four years ago. Now that all members have won both the United States and World Championships, a tag team title win from Dean Ambrose would add that belt to the list as well. Either way, no other faction can share the same achievement that the Shield members have obtained.

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...