Create
Notifications
New User posted their first comment
Advertisement

WWE News: Chris Jericho claims that AJ Styles wasn't supposed to lose the US title at Battleground

Enter cap
AJ Styles
Elliott Binks
TOP CONTRIBUTOR
Modified 31 Aug 2017
News
Advertisement

What’s the story?

Back in July at Battleground, a rather fishy finish saw AJ Styles lose the US title to Kevin Owens, only to then regain the belt just two nights later on SmackDown. Something seemed a little off, and according to Chris Jericho, the match wasn’t meant to end that way.

In a recent interview with Ring Rust Radio, Jericho confirmed that “they legitimately screwed up” and that Styles was seemingly supposed to retain the title at Battleground. You can check out the segment from the interview here.

In case you didn’t know…

In their US title match at Battleground, Kevin Owens defeated AJ Styles in a totally flat finish that suggested something was awry. Styles had locked in a crossface, only for Owens to counter into a pin, which ended up bringing him a surprise 3-count after Styles seemingly forgot to get the shoulder up.

Going in depth

The strangest part about that finish at Battleground was the idea that Styles, a 19-year-veteran and the company’s best worker, would somehow forget about something as simple as getting his shoulder up for a near fall.

Even so, if Jericho is to be believed — and he’s usually a pretty reliable source — this one really was a botch, although there’s no word on whether it was Styles’ fault, Owens’ fault, the referee’s fault, or possibly a combination of all three.

What's next?

Now that Styles has regained the US title, there aren’t really any more steps that need to be taken. The feud with Owens was well and truly ended on SmackDown a few weeks back, so it's onwards and upwards to a new challenger for Styles and the US title scene.

Advertisement

Author’s take

Like Jericho said, something these things happen. And apparently, they can happen to even the very best talent in the company. Still no word on who exactly slipped up, whether it was Styles or the referee or the both of them, but given the way they straightened things out, in the end, does it really matter at this point?


Send us news tips at fightclub@sportskeeda.com

Published 31 Aug 2017, 15:14 IST
Advertisement
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now