5 great England captains who never won an Ashes in Australia

Image result for peter may cricketer
Peter May (in front)
Sahil Jain
Modified 08 Nov 2017
Top 5 / Top 10

Captaining a team requires a special set of skills, especially captaining against and in Australia. The crowds are hostile and Australia is a very difficult team to beat in its own den.

Let's look at five great England captains who never managed to win an Ashes Down Under. 

#5 Peter May

Peter May made his first-class debut in 1950 and in a year’s time, he was in the international reckoning with some solid performances for Surrey.

A decent performance in the 1953 Ashes secured him a permanent place in the Test team. He was a part of a successful England team that didn't lose a single Test series between 1952 and 1958.

In the same period, he was also appointed captain of the England team. In his six-year long captaincy, England lost only one series, the Ashes in 1958-59 in Australia. England was thrashed 4-0 as Australia regained the urn for the first time since 1950-51.

Peter May still remains one of the most successful captains, winning 20 out of his 41 Tests.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 08 Nov 2017
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now