⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

5 Greatest ODI wins for Team India against England in England over the years

Dhruva P
Top 5 / Top 10
Published 22 Jun 2018, 03:15 IST
22 Jun 2018, 03:15 IST

#4 Robin Uthappa’s heroics with the bat help India register a famous win at The Oval – 2007

Enter caption

This was the 6th match of the 7 match ODI series played in the year of 2007. India needed to win this game to stay alive in the series as they were trailing 2-3.

England won the toss and Skipper Paul Collingwood had no hesitation in batting first. England notched up a mammoth total of 316/6 in 50 overs, thanks to a brilliant 107* by Owais Shah in just 95 deliveries.

However, the highlight of the innings came from the last over as Dimitri Mascarenhas smashed the off-spinner Yuvraj Singh for 5 consecutive sixes to propel the score to 316/6 in the allocated 50 overs.

In reply, India got off to a wonderful start thanks to the legendary duo of Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly, as both the batsmen attacked the bowlers right from the word go. The pair scored at more than 7 runs per over and brought India right back into the game.

The pair added 150-0 runs for the 1st wicket before Sourav Ganguly was caught inside the infield for 53.The little master Sachin Tendulkar was cramped and he too departed very soon for 94 and India were 156-2 in 26 overs.

Gautam Gambhir held one end up but with the asking rate climbing high, India kept losing wickets at regular intervals.83 runs were required in 58 balls with MS Dhoni and Robin Uthappa at the crease.

Both the players kept rotating the strike and found the boundary at key intervals to keep up with the required run-rate. Dhoni was dismissed in the 48th over and the responsibility was on Robin Uthappa to take India home.

8 runs were required of 4 balls and Uthappa stroked two boundaries back to back to help India register a famous win at The Oval.

Result: India won the game with 2 wickets and 2 balls to spare

Robin Uthappa’s 47 of 44 was the decisive knock, however, the jury adjudged Sachin Tendulkar as the Man of the Match for his blistering 94 that set up the game for India.

Modified 22 Jun 2018, 03:15 IST
Fetching more content...