⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

First Test series win for India in each nation

Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 20:51 IST

India vs Australia at MCG
India vs Australia at MCG

India recorded their maiden Test series win in Australia, 71 years after having toured for the first time. Prior to this India played 11 Test series in Australia and lost 8 of them with 3 being drawn. The three drawn Test series were 1981, 19985 and 2004 respectively. Its been always tough outing in Australia now only for Indian even for any Asian team had visited this country.

India becomes the only Asian side to win a Test series in Australia. Till now 29 Asian captains played Test series in Australia and only Virat Kohli emerged as the winner. Pujara who scored 500+ runs along with 3 vital centuries won the Man of the series, he made the difference between the two sides.

India did really well in South Africa and England but the scoreline shows the other way. But it was not the case in Australia as India won the Adelaide Test and MCG Test by outplaying Australia in all the departments. This series win means India now has recorded a Test series win in eight Test playing nations except South Africa.

We will now look at India's Test series win in each of these eight countries.

#1 India won in New Zealand 3-1 (1968)

India's maiden away series came against New Zealand in 1968

India's first ever Test series win in New Zealand came when they toured them in 1968. Nawab of Pataudi led India went to New Zealand to play a four-match Test series. India won the first Test by five wickets and thanks to E A S Prasanna for the six wickets haul in the second innings.

But, India lost the second Test Christchurch. GT Dowling smashed a double century in first innings, It helped the Kiwis win the Test by four wickets. Indian went to Wellington with series being 1-1.

It was Prasanna show yet again who took five wickets to haul in the first innings which helped India to bowl out the home side under 200 runs. India won the third Test by 8 wickets. It was Prasanna show in the final Test as well as he took 4 wickets in each innings. India won their maiden away Test series.

1 / 8 NEXT
Published 07 Jan 2019, 23:24 IST
Fetching more content...