India vs Australia World Test Championship Squad

Last Modified Jun 01, 2023 17:49 IST

Indian Cricket Team

India Cricket Team WTC Final 2023
India Cricket Team WTC Final 2023

Rohit Sharma (c)Batsman
Shubman GillBatsman
Virat KohliBatsman
Cheteshwar PujaraBatsman
Ajinkya RahaneBatsman
KS Bharat (wk)Wicketkeeper
Ishan Kishan (wk)Wicketkeeper
Ravichandran AshwinAllRounder
Ravindra JadejaAllRounder
Axar PatelAllRounder
Shardul ThakurAllRounder
Mohammad ShamiBowler
Mohammad SirajBowler
Jaydev UnadaktBowler
Umesh YadavBowler

Standby Players: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Mukesh Kumar

Australia Cricket Team

Australia Cricket Team WTC Final 2023
Australia Cricket Team WTC Final 2023

Marcus HarrisBatsman
Travis HeadBatsman
Usman KhawajaBatsman
Marnus LabuschagneBatsman
Steve Smith (vc)Batsman
David WarnerBatsman
Alex Carey (wk)Wicketkeeper
Josh Inglis (wk)Wicketkeeper
Cameron GreenAllRounder
Pat Cummins (c)Bowler
Scott BolandBowler
Josh HazlewoodBowler
Nathan LyonBowler
Todd MurphyBowler
Mitchell StarcBowler

Standby Players: Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Renshaw

India and Australia will lock horns in the upcoming World Test championship final of the 2022-23 edition between June 7 and June 11 at the Kia Oval in London.

Both teams confirmed their respective slots in the WTC final during the 2023 Border Gavaskar Trophy held in India in February. Australia finished at the top of the points table with 11 wins, five draws, and three losses to accumulate a win per centage of 66.67.

Meanwhile, India won 10 Tests, lost five and drew three as they finished second on the table with 58.8 win per cent.

India will play the WTC final for the second time in a row after they failed to beat New Zealand in the last edition in Southampton, while it will be the first appearance for the Australians in the summit clash.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named a 15-member squad under Rohit Sharma for the 2021-23 WTC final against Australia. One of the biggest astonishment of the selection was the return of middle-order batter Ajinkya Rahane, who hasn't played for India in the red-ball format since January 2022.

On May 8, the Indian board ruled out opening batter KL Rahul from the squad after he suffered an injury to his right upper hand during an IPL match between Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL.

Rahul will require surgery and subsequently undergo rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru. Jharkhand batter Ishan Kishan, who is yet to make his Test debut, was named Rahul's replacement for the final.

Fast bowlers Jaydev Unadkat and Umesh Yadav sustained shoulder and hamstring injuries respectively during the IPL. However, the duo recovered quickly to join the Indian team in London.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav and Mukesh Kumar are part of the Indian squad in the reserved players category.

Australia named a formidable squad as Pat Cummins returns to lead them after missing the last two Tests on the India tour. Western Australia batter Marcus Harris was picked up for the WTC final while all-rounder Mitchell Marsh was named in the reserves along with Matt Renshaw.

Western Australia's Josh Inglis was also included in the 15-member squad as a backup wicketkeeper for Alex Carey.