World Test Championship Points Table

Last Modified May 31, 2023 13:25 IST

Australia is currently at the top of the WTC points table with 136 points.

WTC Points Table

PosTeamMatchesWonLostDrawnPointsPCT (%)
3Sri Lanka105416453.33
4South Africa136617648.72
6West Indies114525440.91
8New Zealand112633627.27

New Zealand v India - First Test: Day 3

World Test Championship Points Table Rules

Regarding the point system of the World Test Championship, the ICC decided that the same number of points will be available for each series. The number of points per series will not depend on the series length so that the teams that play fewer Tests are not at a disadvantage. Each team will be able to score a maximum of 120 points from each series. The two teams with the most number of points in the ICC World Test Championship points table at the end will play the final.

The teams featuring are being ranked in order of percentage of points earned. The PCT % is nothing but the total points scored by the team out of total points that they have contested so far.

The points will be awarded for Test match wins and not Test series wins. This has been done to ensure that the points are distributed equally between all the matches in a series rather than depending on the result of one or two matches. As per the World Test Championship points table rule, this will also ensure that points are distributed fairly even in case of a dead rubber matches.

Length of SeriesPoints for a WinPoints for a TiePoints for a Draw

How does the ICC Test Championship points table work?

  1. As all the series will have two to five matches, each match will offer 50% to 20% of the total points of a series. Therefore a team can get half, one-third, a quarter or one-fifth points of a series after a win depending on the length of the series.
  2. A tie is worth half a win and a draw will be worth one-third of a win.
  3. Teams not following the required over-rate will have two points deducted from their total at the end of the match.
  4. Considering all the various possibilities that could arise when dividing points, 120 was selected as the maximum points in a series, as it can be divided easily in all the cases.
  5. In case of a three-match series, the points awarded to each team on a draw will be 13 instead of 13.33.
  6. If two teams are tied in the ICC World Test Championship points table, the team with more series wins to their name shall be ranked higher.
  7. If the tie is still not broken, then the team with the highest runs per wicket will be ranked above. The runs per wicket ratio is the result of the division of the runs scored per wicket lost and runs conceded per wicket taken.

India’s Standing in the World Test Championship Table for the Inaugural 2019-21.

The India squad were on the top of the table after winning twelve matches out of 17 they have played as a part of the ICC World Test Championship 2019-21.

World Test Championship Points Table

The idea of having a Test Championship came up first in 2009. Initially the tournament was planned for 2013 but later on, ICC announced that the Test Championship would not take place until 2017 and that the 2013 tournament would be cancelled. England and Wales, who were supposed to host the tournament were awarded the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.

However, in 2014, the 2017 tournament was also cancelled and the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy took place instead. Finally, after a decade when the idea of the Championship was first approved, the first edition of the tournament was officially launched by the ICC on 29 July 2019. The first edition will be played between 2019-2021 with a second edition from 2021 to 2023.

The inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship 2019-2021 started from 1 August 2019. The first match of the Ashes 2019 was the maiden match of the Championship. The tournament features nine Test-playing nations. A total of 72 Test matches will be played during the Championship. The WTC final for the Inaugural 2019-21 was played at Ageas Bowl in Southampton from June 18 to 22 between India and New Zealand, where New Zealand won the match and clinched the Inaugural World Test Championship 2019-21 trophy.

The tournament will run over two years and each team will play a Test series against six other teams. Out of these six series, each team will play three each at home and away. Although the teams will play an equal number of series, not all of them play the same number of matches as each series will have two to five Test matches.

Some of the Test series in the Championship are part of already existing longer series like the Freedom Trophy, The Ashes, etc. Some of the competing teams will play additional Test matches against three remaining Test nations who are not part of the Championship. These matches are part of the ICC Future Tours Programme for 2018-2023. This will help the three lowest-ranked Test team to play more Test matches and improve their game.