Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Jonny Bairstow picks Sachin Tendulkar in his all time XI

Bairstow picked four South Africans and two Australians on his side.

News 04 May 2017, 18:49 IST
The only Indian to make Bairstow’s XI

English wicket-keeper batsman Jonny Bairstow joined the highly commendable initiative of the Lord’s Cricket Ground and picked his all-time XI and joined a big list of current and former cricketers who have done the same.

According to the prevailing rules and regulations, ‘the criteria for selection is players they have played with, against or have been influenced by’.

Bairstow decided to go with former England captain and their highest run-getter ever Alastair Cook to open the batting alongside South Africa’s Hashim Amla. Cook is undoubtedly the greatest ever English batsman and Bairstow did not hesitate before choosing him as the opener. 

On the other hand, he felt that Amla has a lot of flair and is extremely unique, hence he decided to pick him in his playing XI.

At no.3, Bairstow decided to go with the West Indian legend Brian Lara. Lara holds the record of being the only batsman to have scored 400 in a Test match and is the highest run getter for his country. 

Just like a lot of the other cricketers, Bairstow too decided to pick Sachin Tendulkar at no. 4 in his batting line-up. The Master Blaster is the all-time leading run scorer in both the Test and the ODI format and is the only cricketer to have scored 100 international centuries. 

Extra Cover: Paul Stirling picks Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar in his All Time XI

The Englishman went on to pick two South Africans in the form of AB de Villiers and Jacques Kallis to make up the 5th and 6th position in his team. de Villiers doesn’t usually keep wickets for his side but the dynamic cricketer more than held his own on those occasions during which he kept wickets. Kallis is arguably the greatest all-rounder ever and his inclusion in the team comes as no surprise.

The only surprise in the team was picking Joe Root at no. 7. Bairstow felt that Root deserves to be on the team but due to the firepower at the top of the order, he would have to settle for no. 7.

The bowling department consists of two Australians in the form of the legendary Shane Warne and the fearsome Mitchell Johnson. To complement them and to complete the side are South Africa’s Dale Steyn and England’s all-time leading wicket-taker James Anderson.

Jonny Bairstow’s XI:

Alastair Cook (captain), Hashim Amla, Brian Lara, Sachin Tendulkar, AB de Villiers (wk), Jacques Kallis, Joe Root, Shane Warne, Mitchell Johnson, Dale Steyn, James Anderson. 

Fetching more content...