Reports: Babar Azam unhappy with Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2021

It seems Babar Azam, the captain of Pakistan, wasn't involved in the selection process
It seems Babar Azam, the captain of Pakistan, wasn't involved in the selection process

Pakistan captain Babar Azam is amongst those who aren't convinced by the squad selected for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021, according to Geo News reports. Apparently, the 26-year-old wasn't involved in the process of picking the squad.

The reports suggest that the No.2 T20I batter in the world has expressed dissatisfaction with a few selections, such as those of Azam Khan and Sohaib Maqsood. Azam is said to have wanted experienced players like Faheem Ashraf and Fakhar Zaman in the squad instead.

Khan and Maqsood were picked after consultations with former cricketer Ramiz Raja, a potential candidate for chairperson of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

The selection process, it seems, was a pointed message for Babar Azam to focus more on his game rather than being concerned about the composition of the squad.

Also Read | "Worst selection ever in history by PCB" - Fans express their extreme displeasure over Pakistan's 15-man squad for the World Cup

Earlier in the week, Misbah-ul-Haq resigned as head coach after a fallout with the PCB over the selection of Azam Khan. Misbah reportedly even had an argument with PCB CEO Wasim Khan over team selection. The former captain, along with bowling coach Waqar Younis, resigned just a day before the squad's announcement.

An uphill task for Babar Azam and his men

Pakistan's recent T20I series against the West Indies was affected by rain. Only one of the four games yielded a result, which Babar Azam's men won by seven runs.

However, the previous three-match T20I series against England was lost 1-2. Pakistan will face New Zealand next in a three-match ODI series and a five-match T20I series. Following criticism over recent performances, Babar Azam has an uphill task to marshall his troops in the leadup to the T20 World Cup.

Pakistan squad for the T20 World Cup 2021:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Azam Khan (wicketkeeper), Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood.

Read | “Don’t think Misbah resigned on his own, he has been pressurized to quit” - Saeed Ajmal makes big claim amid raging controversy in Pakistan cricket

Get India vs New Zealand Live Cricket Score for 3rd T20I at Sportskeeda. Follow us for latest News.

Quick Links

Edited by Ritwik Kumar
Be the first one to comment