IND vs WI 2022, 5th T20I: Who won yesterday’s India vs West Indies match?

Axar Patel (right) celebrates a wicket with Hardik Pandya. Pic: Twitter
Axar Patel (right) celebrates a wicket with Hardik Pandya. Pic: Twitter

India beat the West Indies by 88 runs in Sunday's (August 7) T20I to clinch the five-match series by a 4-1 margin. Batting first after winning the toss, Team India posted an impressive 188 for seven as Shreyas Iyer top-scored with 64 off 40 balls. Ravi Bishnoi (4/16), Axar Patel (3/15) and Kuldeep Yadav (3/12) then spun a web around the Windies, who were bundled out for exactly 100 in 15.4 overs.

Axar ran through West Indies’ top order, claiming three wickets inside the powerplay. The left-arm spinner cleaned up Jason Holder (0), who was promoted to open, in the first over. The batter completely missed his paddle sweep and the ball crashed into leg stump.

Axar was hit for three fours in the fifth over but also got two wickets. Shamarh Brooks (13) was stumped as he looked to loft the spinner over midwicket, but completely missed the ball. Devon Thomas was then castled for 10 as he failed in his attempt to cut a skiddy delivery. West Indies ended the powerplay in big trouble at 38 for three.

There is no stopping @akshar2026 today! Brilliant bowling from the left armer as he bags 2 in an over to get to his 3-fer.Watch the India tour of West Indies LIVE, only on #FanCode 👉…@BCCI @windiescricket #WIvIND #INDvsWIonFanCode #INDvsWI

Kuldeep, the other left-arm spinner who was included in the playing XI, also made an instant impact, getting the massive scalp of West Indies skipper Nicholas Pooran (three). The left-hander was beaten in the flight and trapped lbw by a flipper.

Shimron Hetmyer launched an assault on the Indian bowlers from one end. However, Bishnoi trapped Rovman Powell (nine) and Keemo Paul (0) leg before as West Indies slipped to 88 for six in the 12th over. Powell missed his attempted flick, while Paul was done in by a skidder.

Kuldeep then struck twice in the next over as India raced towards victory. Dominic Drakes (one) was cleaned up by a googly while Odean Smith (0) top-edged an attempted pull to first slip. There was something to cheer for West Indies as Hetmyer brought up a 28-ball fifty by pulling Bishnoi for a boundary.

.@bishnoi0056 at the double! The tricky bowler grabs two wickets in a single over. Watch all the action from the India tour of West Indies LIVE, only on #FanCode 👉…@BCCI @windiescricket #WIvIND #INDvsWIonFanCode #INDvsWI

Hetmyer’s valiant effort ended on 56 (35 balls) as he miscued a big hit off Bishoi to long off. The young leggie had a fourth when last man Obed McCoy (0) slog-swept the bowler to long on. Bishnoi ended with a career-best figure of four for 16 as the spinners claimed all 10 wickets in a match for the first time in a T20I.

Shreyas Iyer smashes 64 as India post 188 for seven

Shreyas Iyer top-scored with 64. Pic: BCCI
Shreyas Iyer top-scored with 64. Pic: BCCI

Shreyas hit a stroke-filled half-century as India put up 188 for seven in their 20 overs. The Men in Blue were well placed to cross 200, having reached 114 for one in the 12th over. However, Odeon Smith (3/33) excelled at the death to ensure India did not go berserk.

India made four changes to their playing XI for the dead rubber. Regular skipper Rohit Sharma was rested while Hardik Pandya was named captain. Team India also had a new opening pair in Shreyas and Ishan Kishan. The former looked in great touch from the start, but Kishan (11) perished cheaply. He pulled a short-of-a-length delivery from Dominic Drakes to the fielder running back from mid-on.

Deepak Hooda struck a couple of fours off Keemo Paul as India ended the powerplay at 53 for one. Shreyas clobbered consecutive sixes off Smith to end the eighth over, while Hooda skipped down the track and lofted the first ball of the nintth over from Hayden Walsh for another maximum over extra cover. Shreyas brought up a 30-ball 50 by slashing Powell for a boundary as India reached a healthy 95 for one at the halfway stage of their innings.

What a display of pure class from @ShreyasIyer15 as he departs after a top-notch innings.Watch the India tour of West Indies LIVE, only on #FanCode 👉…@BCCI @windiescricket#WIvIND #INDvsWIonFanCode #INDvsWI

The 76-run stand ended when Hooda (38 off 25) was dismissed by Walsh while mistiming a big hit. India suffered a double blow as Shreyas perished soon after, chipping a full toss from Holder back to the bowler. Sanju Samson (15) was cleaned up as he attempted to steer Smith behind square. Dinesh Karthik (12) also went cheaply, trapped lbw by Smith as he missed his reverse paddle.

Stand-in skipper Hardik (28 off 16) clubbed Holder for two sixes and a four in the penultimate over to lift India past 180. Smith bowled a good last over in which Hardik was run out off the first ball. Axar (nine) hit a six before being dismissed as only seven runs came off the over.

India vs West Indies 2022: Who was Player of the Match in 5th T20I?

Shreyas struck eight fours and two sixes in his impressive knock. On the bowling front, Axar picked up three quick wickets at the top. Bishnoi and Kuldeep also proved too good for West Indies, sharing the seven other scalps between them.

For the Windies, Smith impressed with three for 33 with his medium pace while Hetmyer scored a brisk fifty.

Axar was named Player of the Match for his brilliant figures of three for 15.

Get IPL 2023 Live Score along with Points Table & Schedule Updates at Sportskeeda.

Quick Links

Edited by Renin Wilben Albert
Be the first one to comment