Favorites Edit

Seven new faces as Australia announce squad for Ireland, England ODIs

835   //    12 Aug 2015, 12:00 IST
Joe Burns Australia Cricket
Joe Burns is expected to partner David Warner at the top of the innings in the place of the injured Aaron Finch

Australia have announced their squad for the upcoming one-dayers against England and Ireland, Cricket Australia’s official website reported. The squad features only eight of the players that were part of the World Cup-winning side earlier in the year while three members of the 14 man squad are yet to make their debut for the national side. 

Australia take on Ireland on August 27 before taking on their Ashes conquerors in a five-match ODI series starting on September 3. A single T20 international against England has also been scheduled between the above dates. 

This is Australia’s first 50-over assignment post the successful World Cup campaign and Steven Smith has been confirmed as Michael Clarke’s successor, though the side does feature George Bailey who stood in for the injured Clarke in their tournament opener against England. 

Wicketkeeper Brad Haddin had also called time on his ODI career after the World Cup and is replaced by Matthew Wade. Fast bowlers Mitchell Johnson and Josh Hazlewood have been rested while James Faulkner will be serving his four-match ban he picked up for the drink-driving offense.

Opening batsman Aaron Finch is out injured with the foot injury he picked up while playing county cricket for Yorkshire and will in all probability be replaced by Joe Burns whose impressive performances for Australia A, which included a smashing 131-ball 154 against India A, has him in line for an ODI debut.

Xavier Doherty has been dropped in favour of Ashton Agar who has been equally impressive and his 5-39 against the same opposition on Monday is understood to have titled the decision in his favour.

Shane Watson managed to keep his place in the side but will face a battle for a spot in the starting eleven from Mitchell Marsh and newcomer Marcus Stoinis for the all rounder’s spot. James Pattinson and Nathan Courter-Nile will partner Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins in the fast bowling department. 

Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), Ashton Agar, George Bailey, Joe Burns, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, David Warner

The T20 squad has only one change with the addition of leg-spinner Cameron Boyce, another who has impressed on the 'A' Tour, for the one-off T20 international match against England on 31 August in Cardiff.

Topics you might be interested in:
Content writer intern at Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...