SK Flashback: England win 2010 World T20, their first ICC trophy

TO GO WITH CRICKET-WT20-2016-WINNERS-WC, FACTS(FILES) This file photograph taken on May 16, 2010 shows English players celebrating with the trophy as England won the Men's ICC World Twenty20 final match between Australia and England at the Kensington Oval Cricket Ground in Bridgetown.         AFP PHOTO/Emmanuel Dunand /FILES / AFP / EMMANUEL DUNAND / XGTY        (Photo credit should read EMMANUEL DUNAND/AFP/Getty Images)
England rolled over Australia in the finals to win their maiden ICC trophy
rohit sankar

On this day seven years back, a brutal onslaught from Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen helped England to a first ICC title in the World T20 final against Australia in Barbados. The Paul Collingwood-led England outfit, marked as poor T20 players, gave the critics a run for their money with a superb show in the championship.

England's World Cup jinx was broken and Collingwood etched his name in annals of England cricket as the first England skipper to lead the national team to an ICC trophy.

The all important start

Brad Haddin Ryan Sidebottom
England off to a rollicking start

England were on the charge early as they reduced Australia to 8 for 3, losing a wicket each in the first three overs of the game. Shane Watson was the first to go, nicking Ryan Sidebottom to the keeper. And in spite of Kieswetter spilling the chance, Graeme Swann at slip was alert to grab the rebound.

Warner was then run-out by a pinpoint underarm throw from Michael Lumb and Brad Haddin departed in the very next over as he was caught behind off Sidebottom. England had established their authority in the game and Michael Clarke was left with David Hussey to rebuild the innings a mere 18 balls into the all-important final.

Also read: Chris Gayle picks India and Pakistan as his favourites to win the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy

The late blitz

 David Hussey and Michael Hussey
David Hussey and Michael Hussey helped Australia to a respectable total

David Hussey, one of the finest T20 players the World had seen at the time, stood firm with his skipper who ambled along at run a ball. Clarke's stay, however, came to an end when Graeme Swann had him flicking to a leaping Collingwood at short mid-wicket.

Cameron White had been in ominous touch right through the tournament and once again did his job to perfection. White and Hussey pumped 21 from Michael Yardy's over and set the tempo for the later stages of the innings.

Part-time seamer, Luke Wright got rid of White but the Hussey brothers joined hands to push Australia closer to the 150 mark. David Hussey completed his half-century and Michael Hussey hit a couple of boundaries as Australia finished on 147.

England make a mockery of the target

Craig Kieswetter
Craig Kieswetter was in imperious form

Although Michael Lumb fell to Shaun Tait pretty early, Craig Kieswetter was in one of his moods as was Kevin Pietersen. The duo lambasted the Aussie pacers to all corners of the Barbados stadium. Kieswetter slammed Dirk Nannes for back to back boundaries while Pietersen engaged in strike rotation in the powerplays.

Pietersen took on Steven Smith, then a leg-spinner in the Australian side, while Kieswetter targetted Watson, smashing consecutive boundaries off his first over and then a huge six over mid-wicket. Shaun Tait returned to the attack only for Pietersen to slam him for a six and a four.

Kieswetter, meanwhile, brought up his half-century off forty balls as the required rate crept below six an over. The 111 run stand between the duo came to an end when Pietersen held out off the bowling of Steven Smith. Kieswetter soon followed, cleaned up by a Mitchell Johnson yorker for 63.

England Australia Barbados 2010 Paul Collingwood
Paul Collingwood lent the final touches

However, with less than 30 required off six overs, the game was well and truly over. Eoin Morgan and Paul Collingwood finished off the chase in style to become the first English side to win an ICC trophy.

Craig Kieswetter, who had to retire early from the game due to an eye injury that he sustained during a match, was adjudged the Man of the Match for his blitzkrieg at the start of the innings. Australia, led by Michael Clarke, had quite a few positives to take out of the tournament but the World T20 trophy eludes them till date. Kevin Pietersen, meanwhile, is out of the England side after disputes with the England Cricket Board although he plays in T20 leagues around the World.


England Australia Barbados 2010
England finally get their hands on the trophy

Kevin Pietersen summed up the win in his words after the triumph. "It will only sink in in a few weeks' time or when I see my little boy to see and hold, everything will probably sink in. Right now in the dressing room, we will celebrate as a team but things only seem to sink in a few days later or a week later. Hopefully, the ash cloud will stay away and we can get back to our families on Tuesday because its one thing celebrating with the lads but you also want your families around you to celebrate such a successful time."

An upset Michael Clarke congratulated England on their maiden triumph in an ICC tournament.

"We knew England were going to be tough, they are a very tough Twenty20 team and losing those three wickets early didn't help and it put a lot of pressure on our middle order. But I thought we did well to scrape our way to 140-odd, although we were probably about 30 runs short, or 50 runs short the way England batted. We got beaten by the better team today."

Also read: 5 players who will be playing their first Champions Trophy

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...