Favorites Edit

Stats: Shared Man of the Match awards - An occasion when all 11 players were jointly named MoM

Umang Pabari
23.12K   //    18 Dec 2015, 07:32 IST
When South Africa’s all 11 players got the Man of the Match award, it showed cricket is a team game indeed

Probably we have seen or heard many times that two players from the same side share the Man of the Match award in a test match, or sometimes even from two opposite sides. But there was one occasion when all 11 players from a single side had got the Man of the Match award.

Man of the Match awards are given to the player who has contributed the most to his team’s victory in that match or has contributed to the match in a manner which cannot be ignored. But it is a rare instance indeed when all 11 players from one side contributed to team’s victory equally.

This has been the only test match in history till date when all players from a side have shared the Man of the Match award.

Test Match Number: 1441

Match: South Africa vs West Indies (5th Test)

Season: 1998/99

Venue: Centurion Park

This test match was won by South Africa by 351 runs and their 11 players shared the Man of the Match award for their equal contribution in winning. Here is a table that shows brief scores of all four innings of that test match.

Match Innings Team Runs
1st South Africa 313
2nd West Indies 144
3rd South Africa 399/5
4th West Indies 217

Here is a table that shows contribution of all 11 players of South Africa, due to which they got the Man of the Match award.

Player Name Contribution in a test match for which got the Man of the Match award
Gary Kirsten 134 runs  scored in a match
Herschelle Gibbs 53 runs scored  in  a match
Jacques Kallis 110 runs scored, 3 wickets and catches taken in a match
Daryll Cullinan 13 runs scored and 1 wicket taken in a match
Hansie Cronje 83 runs scored and catches taken in a match
Jonty Rhodes 127 runs scored and catches taken in a match
Shaun Pollock 16 runs scored and 3 wickets taken in a match
Mark Boucher 100 runs scored and 2 catches taken as a wicket-keeper in a match
Lance Klusener 12 runs scored and 3 wickets taken in a match
Allan Donald 12 runs scored, 6 wickets and 1 catch taken in a match
Paul Admas 7 runs scored, 4 wickets and 1 catch taken in a match

So far, there have been 14 instances when two players from the same team were given the Man of the Match award in a Test match.

MoM-1 MoM-2 Country Against Venue Year Winner
Dilip Vengsarkar Maninder Singh India Sri Lanka Nagpur 1986 India
Richard Hadlee Ewen Chatfield New Zealand West Indies Christchurch 1987 New Zealand
Ian Smith Andrew Jones New Zealand Sri Lanka Hamilton 1991 Drawn
Ken Rutherford Danny Morrison New Zealand Australia Auckland 1993 New Zealand
Shane Thomson Bryan Young New Zealand Pakistan Christchurch 1994 New Zealand
Andy Flower Grant Flower Zimbabwe Pakistan Harare 1995 Zimbabwe
Jack Russell Mike Atherton England South Africa New Wanders 1995 Drawn
Steve Waugh Greg Blewett Australia South Africa New Wanders 1997 Australia
Shaun Pollock Mark Boucher South Africa Zimbabwe Harare 1999 South Africa
Jacques Kallis Makhaya Ntini South Africa Zimbabwe Bloemfontein 2000 South Africa
Justin Langer Matthew Hayden Australia South Africa Sydney 2002 Australia
Makhaya Ntini Greme Smith South Africa England Lord’s 2003 South Africa
Taufeeq Umar Danish Kaneria Pakistan South Africa Lahore 2003 Pakistan
Dale Styen Morne Morkel South Africa England New Wanders 2010 South Africa

There have been 26 instances in Test cricket so far when two players from opposite sides were given the Man of the Match award.

MoM – 1 MoM – 2 Match Venue Year Result
Wasim Raja (Pak) Collin Craft (WI) Pakistan vs West Indies Queen’s Park Oval 1977 West Indies
Geoff Howarth (NZ) Sandeep Patil (Ind) New Zealand vs India Wellington 1981 New Zealand
John Wright (NZ)

Ravi Shashtri (Ind)

New Zealand vs India Eden Park 1981 Drawn
Ian Botham (Eng) Gordon Greenidge (WI) England vs West Indies Lord’s 1984 West Indies
Viv Richards (WI) Ewen Chatfield (NZ) West Indies vs New Zealand Port of Spain 1985 Drawn
Kapil Dev (Ind) Dean Jones (Aus) India vs Australia Chepauk 1986 Tied
Imran Khan (Pak) Kris Srikkanth (Ind) Pakistan vs India Chepauk 1987 Drawn
Phil Newport (Eng) Ravi Ratnayake (SL) England vs Sri Lanka Lord’s 1988 England
Allan Border (Aus) Ijaz Ahmed (Pak) Australia vs Pakistan Faisalabad 1988 Drawn
Gus Logie (WI) David Boon (Aus) West Indies vs Australia Sabina Park 1991 Drawn
Alec Stewart (Eng) Ravi Ratnayake (SL) England vs Sri Lanka Lord’s 1991 England
Curtly Ambrose (WI) Andrew Hudson (SA) West Indies vs South Africa Kensington Oval 1992 West Indies
Alec Stewert (Eng) Nathan Astle (NZ) England vs New Zealand Auckland 1997 Drawn
Shiv Chanderpaul (WI) Rahul Dravid (Ind) West Indies vs India Bourda 1997 Drawn
Pat Symcox (SA) Azhar Mahmood (Pak) South Africa vs Pakistan New Wanderers 1998 Drawn
Saeed Anwar (Pak) Javagal Srinath (Ind) Pakistan vs India Eden Gardens 1999 Pakistan
Aravinda de Silva (SL) Ricky Ponting (Aus) Sri Lanka vs Australia Kandy 1999 Sri Lanka
Andy Flower (Zim) Russell Arnold (SL) Zimbabwe vs Sri Lanka Harare 1999 Drawn
Andy Caddick (Eng) Gary Kirsten (SA) England vs South Africa Kingsmead 1999 Drawn
Arjuna Ranatunga (SL) Lance Klusener (SA) Sri Lanka vs South Africa Kandy 2000 South Africa
Matthew Hayden (Aus) Harbhajan Singh (Ind) Australia vs India Chepauk 2001 India
Muttiah Muralitharan (SL) Mohammad Ashraful (Ban) Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh SSC 2001 Sri Lanka
Brian Lara (WI) Chaminda Vaas (SL) West Indies vs Sri Lanka SSC 2001 Sri Lanka
Gary Kirsten (SA) Taufeeq Umar (Pak) South Africa vs Pakistan Faisalabad 2003 Drawn
Nuwan Kulasekara (SL) Fawad Alam (Pak) Sri Lanka vs Pakistan P Sara Oval 2009 Sri Lanka
Salman Butt (Pak) Simon Katich (Aus) Pakistan vs Australia Lord’s 2010 Australia
Topics you might be interested in:
Umang Pabari
People need shelter, food and clothes to live in this world but i only need Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli and AB Devilliers' work ethics to live in this world.
Fetching more content...