Favorites Edit

Steven Finn becomes 7th bowler to claim World Cup hat-trick

3.16K   //    14 Feb 2015, 16:10 IST
Steven Finn

Melbourne, Feb 14 - England pacer Steven Finn, on Saturday, took the first hat-trick of the 2015 Cricket World Cup, thereby becoming the seventh bowler in the history of the tournament to do so.

The 6' 7" Finn clinched the hat-trick on the last three deliveries of the Australian innings as they posted a mammoth 342/9 in 50 overs in their World Cup opener at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

First, the Englishman got rid of wicketkeeper-batsman Brad Haddin with the fourth ball of the 50th over. The latter swung his bat which got a thick outside edge and was caught by Stuart Broad at deep third man.

All-rounder Glen Maxwell was the next man to go when Joe Root took an absolute blinder. Finn's delivery was darted into Maxwell, who hit it with power, but Root ran from long-off, dived to his right and pulled off a stunner.

The 25-year-old claimed his hat-trick when tailender Mitchell Johnson slapped the ball straight to James Anderson at mid-off.

Finn became the seventh bowler to take a hat-trick during the mega event while it was the eighth instance overall.

It all began as far back in the 1987 edition when India pacer Chetan Sharma claimed the first hat-trick of the quadrennial event against New Zealand.

Pakistan's spin legend Saqlain Mushtaq achieved the landmark 12 years later against Zimbabwe at The Oval in England.

Former Sri Lanka spearhead Chaminda Vaas claimed his prize in South Africa in 2003 against minnows Bangladesh while former Australia pace great Brett Lee too picked up three consecutive wickets against Kenya in the same edition by giving away just 14 runs in a Super Six tie.


Sri Lanka's fast bowling spearhead Lasith Malinga has claimed it twice. In 2007, he took four wickets in four balls against South Africa and followed it up in 2011 against Kenya, where he bundled out the last three batsmen in three consecutive deliveries.

West Indies pacer Kemar Roach also has a hat-trick to his name, which he scalped against the Netherlands in the same year.

List of World Cup hat-tricks: 

Number Player Opposition Year
1 Chetan Sharma (IND) New Zealand 1987
2 Saqlain Mushtaq (PAK) Zimbabwe 1999
3 Chaminda Vaas (SL) Bangladesh 2003
4 Brett Lee (AUS) Kenya 2003
5 Lasith Malinga (SL) South Africa  2007
6 Lasith Malinga (SL) Kenya 2011
7 Kemar Roach (WI) Netherlands 2011
8 Steven Finn (ENG) Australia  2015
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...