Favorites Edit

Top 10 run-getters in ODI Cricket in 2015

Rohan Nagaraj
Top 5 / Top 10
4.17K   //    02 Jan 2016, 00:03 IST
Guptill scored the most runs in ODI cricket in 2015

New Zealand opener, Martin Guptill finished 2015 as the leading run-scorer in ODI cricket, scoring close to 1500 runs, with the highest score of 237*. Two other Kiwi players too featured on the list, which summed up a great year for New Zealand cricket, in which they beat top teams and even reached the World Cup final. 

The list of the top ten run-scorers, remarkably, did not feature a single Indian player. India had a disappointing 2015 in the shorter formats of the game, where they failed to get going as a team, and even losing to teams like Bangladesh. But in stark contrast, their Test performance exceeded expectations, under their young captain Virat Kohli.

Even more surprisingly, not a single Aussie batsman featured on the top 10 run-getters list, despite their team being crowned world champions. Other obvious names on the list included that of AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla and retired cricketer Kumar Sangakkara, who all performed exceptionally well in ODIs in the past year.

Zimbabwe batsman, Sean Williams was the best batsman among the minnows, and he was placed eighth on the list with close to 900 runs. Top run-scorer Guptill was closely followed by his teammate and young batting sensation Kane Williamson, who had a fantastic year in both ODIs and Tests. Ross Taylor too featured on the list with 1046 runs in 27 matches.

The others who completed the list include Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan, England captain Eoin Morgan and South African Faf du Plessis. In all, the top 10 ODI batsmen of 2015 had accounted to 10,979 runs with 34 centuries among them.

Here’s a list of the Top10 ODI batsmen of 2015:

Sl. No. PlayerMatchesRunsAverage100s
1.Martin Guptill (NZ)32148955.144
2.Kane Williamson (NZ)27137657.333
3.Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)25120752.474
4.AB de Villiers (RSA)20119379.535
5.Hashim Amla (RSA)23106250.574
6.Ross Taylor (NZ)27104658.114
7.Eoin Morgan (ENG)2596743.952
8.Sean Williams (ZIM)2689338.821
9.Faf du Plessis (RSA)2088458.932
10.Kumar Sangakkara (SL)1486286.205
Topics you might be interested in:
Rohan Nagaraj
Die-hard Federer fan, sports-freak, closely follows Cricket, Tennis, Football and Chess.
Fetching more content...