Favorites Edit

F1 2013: A look at the teams so far

808   //    20 Dec 2012, 20:38 IST

With 84 days until the lights go green in the 2013 Australian Grand Prix, we take a quick look at who’s been confirmed on which team for the next season:

Red Bull

Engines: Renault

1. Sebastian Vettel (Contract for 2013 and 2014, but there are performance clauses).

2. Mark Webber (Contract expires at end of 2013).

With Ferrari‘s flirty pursuit of Webber decisively rebuffed, Red Bull will start the 2013 campaign with their line-up unchanged for a fifth consecutive season.


Engines: Ferrari

3. Fernando Alonso (Contract for 2013, with options for 2014 and further).

4. Felipe Massa (Contract expires at end of 2013).

Alonso is under lock and key until 2016, while Massa has signed a one-year contract extension in the wake of a dramatic upsurge in form. His compliance at Korea, when he shadowed his title-aspiring team-mate to the line, probably sealed the deal.


Engines: Mercedes

5. Jenson Button (Signed ‘multi-year contract’ in October 2011).

6. Sergio Perez (Signed ‘multi-year contract’ in October 2012)

After three years of the all-British line-up of Hamilton and Button, McLaren have opened up doors to new and potentially lucrative overseas markets with the acquisition of Perez.


Engines: Renault

7. Kimi Raikkonen (Signed two year contract in November 2011, second year was an option).

8. Romain Grosjean (Contract expires at end of 2013).

With team boss Eric Boullier’s early prediction that Lotus’ line-up will be “pretty much the same” in 2013, it was only a matter of time before Romain Grosjean was retained as Kimi Raikkonen’s partner after the Finn agreed to stay with the team.


Engines: Mercedes

9. Nico Rosberg (Signed ‘multi-year contract’ in November 2011).

10. Lewis Hamilton (Contract expires at end of 2015).

With the team finishing at fifth place in the Constructors’ Championship this season, Mercedes has opted to try one of the strongest driver line-up on the grid with Rosberg and Hamilton.


Engines: Ferrari

11. Nico Hulkenberg (Signed contract for 2013, length not announced).

12. Esteban Gutierrez (Signed contact for 2013, length not announced).

With Sergio Perez on his way to McLaren and as it emerged in Korea, Nico Hulkenberg has been brought in to lead the team in 2013 while the Mexican connection will continue with Esteban Gutierrez in the second seat (to appease sponsors?).

Force India

Engines: Mercedes

14. Paul di Resta (Signed contract for 2013, length not announced).

15. TBC (TBC)

The team had made no secret of their wish to retain their current line-up, but that now won’t happen after Hulkenberg’s move to Sauber was confirmed. Paul di Resta will surely remain, but alongside whom? Former driver Adrian Sutil is back in the frame, along with Jaime Alguersuari, but the smart money is on Jules Bianchi being promoted from the rank of third driver.


Engines: Renault

16. Pastor Maldonado (Has contract)

17. Valtteri Bottas (Has contract)

Bottas’ promotion comes after a series of strong showings during his Friday Practice appearances this season. On each occasion, he took the place of Bruno Senna and now that move has been made permanent. Pastor Maldonado’s second season was about as inconsistent as they come – but Williams will continue to polish this rough diamond and without doubt, the sponsor’s millions will help them.

Toro Rosso

Engines: Ferrari

18. Daniel Ricciardo (Signed contract for 2013, length not announced).

19. Jean-Eric Vergne (Signed contract for 2013, length not announced).

After a very average start, Vergne’s finishes placed the Frenchman three points ahead of his team-mate in the standings. Ricciardo has been more consistent and it’s with little surprise that both have been given another year in which to prove themselves as a potential successor to Vettel or (more likely) Webber.


Engines: Renault

20. Charles Pic (Signed ‘multi-year contract’ in November 2012).

21. TBC (TBC)

After an undistinguished year, Vitaly Petrov’s place is in jeopardy while Heikki Kovalainen is out of contract. And with Charles Pic being signed on, one of these two drivers will be out of luck (and out of a seat).


Engines: Cosworth

22. Timo Glock (Signed new ‘long term contract’ in July 2011).

23. Max Chilton (Signed contract for 2013, length not announced).

Max Chilton was the most recently signed driver for the 2013 Formula One season, making him one of four Brits on the 2013 grid while Timo Glock stays on for a fourth year.

Now with 24 out of a possible 26 seats filled, these are the likely candidates for remaining seats (in no particular order):

- Heikki Kovalainen
- Vitaly Petrov
- Bruno Senna
- Kamui Kobayashi
- Pedro de la Rosa
- Narain Karthikeyan
- Jules Bianchi
- Adrian Sutil
- Jaime Alguersuari
- Jerome d’Ambrosio

Topics you might be interested in:
A woman's voice in a male dominated industry.
Fetching more content...