⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Vettel takes 2nd consecutive pole at Indian GP

Nishant Raj
27 Oct 2012, 18:03 IST

Sebastian Vettel grabbed 2nd pole at Indian GP

Sebastian Vettel continued his brilliant form en route to the pole position for the 2012 Indian Grand Prix. Despite making a mistake on his first run, the young German got it all together for the second run and secured his second consecutive pole position in India.

Mark Webber made it a Red Bull front row lock-out by setting the second fastest time. Lewis Hamilton was third fastest in his McLaren. The Briton wasn’t looking in a good shape prior to Q3 but did a good clean lap at the end of Q3 to set the third fastest time.

Hamilton’s team mate Jenson button was fourth fastest while Championship contender Fernado Alonso could only produce the fifth fastest time.

The Ferrari team will have to hope for some miracle if they want to challenge Red Bull as with their momentum, they are fast getting out of everyone’s reach.

Felipe Massa was sixth fastest in the other Ferrari. The Brazilian had endured a tough day yesterday but managed to make it into Q3 and will be starting from P6 on the grid. He was followed up by the Renault of Kimi Raikkonen.

Raikkonen’s team mate Grosjean didn’t make into Q3 and from the visuals, it looked like the young Frenchman was over driving his Lotus. He will be starting from P11 on the grid.

Sergio Perez, Pastor Maldanado and Nico Rosberg round up the top 10. Nico Rosberg didn’t set a time in Q3, instead he opted to preserve his tyres for tomorrow’s race. Michael Schumacher couldn’t make into Q3 and will be starting from P14 on the grid.

Neither of the drivers from Force India made into Q3 which was a big disappointment for the Indian fans. Nico Hulkenberg and Paul Di resta start from 12th and 15th respectively.

Home hero Narain Karthikeyan qualified in 23rd place.

11Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:26.3871:25.4351:25.28313
22Mark WebberRed Bull Racing-Renault1:26.7441:25.6101:25.32717
34Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes1:26.5161:25.8161:25.54423
43Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:26.5641:25.4671:25.65921
55Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:26.8291:25.8341:25.77321
66Felipe MassaFerrari1:26.9391:26.1111:25.85718
79Kimi RäikkönenLotus-Renault1:26.7401:26.1011:26.23625
815Sergio PerezSauber-Ferrari1:27.1791:26.0761:26.36023
918Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Renault1:26.0481:25.9831:26.71324
108Nico RosbergMercedes1:26.4581:25.976No time23
1110Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:26.8971:26.13616
1212Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:27.1851:26.24120
1319Bruno SennaWilliams-Renault1:26.8511:26.33119
147Michael SchumacherMercedes1:27.4821:26.57419
1516Daniel RicciardoSTR-Ferrari1:27.0061:26.77719
1611Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes1:27.4621:26.98919
1714Kamui KobayashiSauber-Ferrari1:27.5171:27.21917
1817Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Ferrari1:27.52511
1921Vitaly PetrovCaterham-Renault1:28.75610
2020Heikki KovalainenCaterham-Renault1:29.50010
2124Timo GlockMarussia-Cosworth1:29.61311
2222Pedro de la RosaHRT-Cosworth1:30.5928
2323Narain KarthikeyanHRT-Cosworth1:30.59310
2425Charles PicMarussia-Cosworth1:30.66211
Q1 107% Time1:32.071
Fetching more content...