Favorites Edit

Atletico Madrid's Arda Turan: "My vote for Simeone was changed, I didn't vote for Jose Mourinho"

7.80K   //    13 Jan 2015, 13:39 IST
Arda Turan
Arda Turan in action for Atletico Madrid during their La Liga tie against Barcelona

Germany’s Joachim Loew being adjudged as FIFA’s Coach of the Year surprised many. Atletico Madrid boss Diego Simeone seemed to have been the frontrunner, having led his underdog side to a victorious domestic league campaign and almost a Champions League trophy.

And now, Atletico Madrid star Arda Turan’s reaction to the announcement has raised several questions. Turan serves as the captain for his national side Turkey and was eligible to vote. 

According to the official list of the votes cast by captains of each nation released on FIFA’s official website, Turan had placed Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho in the first place followed by Germany manager Joachim Low and then his own manager, Diego Simeone. But that wasn’t actually the case, according to Turan.

Turan vote

Taking to Twitter, the Turkish midfielder wrote, “Regarding the Ballon d’Or and the Coach of the Year award, I’ve had many questions and want to address them again,” as translated by Inside Spanish Football.

[Translation: “On the day where I was asked for my selections, I elected Diego Simeone as the best coach and Cristiano Ronaldo as the best player, it was exactly so.”]

[Translation: “For me, Simeone is the best coach in the world and I would have been as happy as he would have been to win it.”]

[Translation: “I would like all the press and everyone throughout the world to know. I have explained it again, so as not to confuse anyone.]

This has come as a reinforcement of the doubts already swirling about the voting process; it made little sense why Turan would vote for Mourinho and Low ahead of his own manager; especially since the two have never worked together. Turan’s comments are sure to raise many eyebrows, just like every other year when stories of votes being changed get attention from the public.

Here is the list of votes by some of the more famous players, and it’s not really surprising to see that a majority of them have gone with managers of their club or nation or with whom they have worked before.

Country Captain 1st Choice (5 Pts.) 2nd Choice (3 PTS) 3rd Choice (1 Pt)
Argentina Lionel Messi Alejandro Sabella Pep Guardiola  Jose Mourinho
Australia Mile Jedinak Diego Simeone  Joachim Loew  Carlo Ancelotti
Belgium Vincent Kompany Manuel Pellegrini Diego Simeone  Joachim Loew 
Bosnia Edin Dzeko Joachim Loew  Carlo Ancelotti Manuel Pellegrini
Brazil Neymar Joachim Loew  Pep Guardiola  Louis van Gaal
Chile Claudio Bravo Joachim Loew  Diego Simeone  Manuel Pellegrini
Colombia Radamel Falcao Diego Simeone  Alejandro Sabella Louis van Gaal
Costa Rica Bryan Ruiz Diego Simeone  Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew 
Croatia Darijo Srna Carlo Ancelotti Diego Simeone  Joachim Loew 
Denmark Daniel Agger Diego Simeone  Joachim Loew  Joachim Loew 
England Wayne Rooney Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew  Diego Simeone 
France Hugo Lloris Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew  Diego Simeone 
Germany Bastian Schweinsteiger Joachim Loew  Pep Guardiola  Louis van Gaal
Ghana Asamoah Gyan Carlo Ancelotti Pep Guardiola  Jose Mourinho
India Sunil Chhetri Diego Simeone  Joachim Loew  Pep Guardiola 
Italy Gianluigi Buffon Joachim Loew  Antonio Conte Carlo Ancelotti
Japan Keisuke Honda Joachim Loew  Carlo Ancelotti Pep Guardiola 
Mexico Andres Guardado Diego Simeone  Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew 
Netherlands Robin van Persie Carlo Ancelotti Diego Simeone  Pep Guardiola 
Nigeria Vincent Enyeama Carlo Ancelotti Pep Guardiola  Joachim Loew 
Paraguay Roque Santa Cruz Diego Simeone  Carlo Ancelotti Jose Mourinho
Poland Robert Lewandowski Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew  Pep Guardiola 
Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo Carlo Ancelotti Diego Simeone  Joachim Loew 
Republic of Ireland Robbie Keane Carlo Ancelotti Diego Simeone  Juergen Klinsmann 
Serbia Brainslav Ivanovic Jose Mourinho Carlo Ancelotti Diego Simeone 
Scotland Brown Scott Joachim Loew  Pep Guardiola  Diego Simeone 
Slovakia Martin Skrtel Diego Simeone  Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew 
Spain Iker Casillas Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew  Manuel Pellegrini
Sweden Zlatan Ibrahimovic Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew  Diego Simeone 
Switzerland Gokhan Inler Pep Guardiola  Joachim Loew  Carlo Ancelotti
Turkey Arda Turan Jose Mourinho Joachim Loew  Diego Simeone 
Uruguay Diego Godin Diego Simeone  Joachim Loew  Louis van Gaal
USA Clint Dempsey Joachim Loew  Carlo Ancelotti Diego Simeone 
Wales Ashley Williams Carlo Ancelotti Joachim Loew  Pep Guardiola 

Note: Despite the Twitter account not being verified, it is followed by the club, many of the players and UEFA’s official account. Looks like this is definitely Turan’s Twitter account.

Topics you might be interested in:
Eric Cartman killed my parents, so I had to start writing to make a living.
Fetching more content...