Favorites Edit

Euro 2016: A lookback at the greatest XI to have never won the Euros

Top 5 / Top 10
32.03K   //    20 Jun 2016, 12:20 IST
andrea pirlo sad

Some truly great players have won and made their name in the Euros, but there have also been some absolute legends of the game who have just fallen short of the prestigious Henri Delaunay trophy.

World Cup winners, Ballon d’Or winners, true legends of the game, all make this list. Without much ado, let us look at the greatest XI to have never won the Euros.

Note: Players who are currently active have not been considered, Also preference has been given to players who came close to winning the Euros.

Peter Shilton – Goalkeeper

peter shilton
Shilton is considered to be one of the greatest goalkeepers of all time

One of the greatest goalkeepers of all time, Peter Shilton was unlucky to be part of an era where the England squad was average to say the least. The great English goalkeeper took part in two Euro championships in 1980 and 1988, with both ending in disappointment.

He is considered to be the greatest England goalkeeper of all time and he still holds the record for most number of appearances in the English national team with a total of 125 caps. Standing at a height of over 6 feet, Shilton was a commanding presence in the box and he was very good at dealing with crosses.

Shilton was also an excellent shot-stopper and he pulled off extraordinary saves with amazing consistency. Truly one of the greats of the game, Shilton is definitely unlucky to have not won Euros in his long and distinguished career.

1 / 11 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
"Some people think football is a matter of life and death. I don't like that attitude. I can assure them it is much more serious than that."
Fetching more content...