8 players who won the Premier League title with two different clubs

  • Very few players have won Premier League titles with different clubs since it was formed in 1992
Rohith Nair
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 13 May 2017, 17:20 IST

Winning the Premier League title in England is one of the hardest things to accomplish as a footballer. A punishing schedule, a number of teams vying for the title every year, a title race that almost always goes on until May – a number of factors make it a very challenging task.

Of course, there are a number of players who have won it multiple times – all thanks to a manager who built a squad that got used to winning titles. But a select few have managed to win the league title with two different teams.

Note: Mark Schwarzer is not included even though he was in the Chelsea and Leicester City squads that won the title in 2014/15 and 2015/16 because he didn’t play a single game.

1) N’Golo Kante

Players won Premier League different clubs
N’Golo Kante – the first player to win back-to-back Premier League titles with different clubs

When the 2015/16 season got underway, almost nobody knew who N’golo Kante was. Here was a French midfielder who had been signed by Leicester City – a club that miraculously survived relegation the season before – for a paltry sum of £5.6m. 

But when he stepped foot on the pitch and covered every blade of grass to make interceptions and win tackles, the Foxes knew they had a special player in their ranks. And the rest of the league also sat up and took notice. By the end of the season, his tireless running had seen him top the interception and tackles charts in the league as Leicester won the title.

Although many expected him to repeat his heroics, this time in the league and in Europe, Kante suddenly made the switch to Chelsea who paid a handsome £32m fee. The club had sold Ramires to the Chinese Super League and they replaced him with a player of significantly better quality. 

What followed was a Conte-Kante master class as Chelsea trotted to the Premier League title while Kante picked up both the PFA Player of the Year and FWA Player of the Year. No other player in Premier League history has been involved in the entire campaign in back-to-back title wins with two different clubs.

1 / 8 NEXT
Published 13 May 2017, 16:51 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit