Write & Earn

Spain announce 23-man squad for FIFA World Cup 2014; Negredo, Llorente miss out

Spain announce 23-man squad for FIFA World Cup 2014.

Spain Football Team
Andres Iniesta (2ndL) of Spain celebrates wit his teammates after scoring his team's second goal during an international friendly match between Spain and Bolivia at Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan on May 30, 2014 in Seville, Spain. 

Spain manager Vicente Del Bosque has announced the 23-man squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup tournament in Brazil, with Alvaro Negredo, Daniel Carvajal and Fernando Llorente being the most notable exclusions from the 30-man provision squad that was announced three weeks ago. 

The La Roja team comprises of expected names including the reigning World Cup winners along with some young guns getting a shot at the summer event.

The Barcelona trio of  Xavi, Iniesta and Busquets will orchestrate the midfield for Del Bosque along with the experienced legs of Xabi Alonso. Koke of Atletico Madrid features for the first time while Isco has been excluded from the squad.

Sergio Ramos and Gerard Pique will once again resume their roles at the centre of defence, while Diego Costa features in the forward line-up alongside his Atletico team-mate David Villa and Euro 2012 Golden Boot winner Fernando Torres. 

The inclusion of Costa whose fitness is still not expected to be up to the mark and the inclusion of Torres ahead of Negredo who won the premier league with City has certainly raised some eyebrows. But Del Bosque is the reigning European and World Champion and he knows his priorities.

Former Chelsea midfielder Juan Mata couldn’t control his excitement after getting selected and tweeted his happiness.

Iker Casillas will captain his side once again as the default first choice goalkeeper while Manchester United’s David De Gea replaces an injured Victor Valdes with Pepe Reina serving as the third choice for Del Bosque.

Spain have been drawn in Group B against their 2010 final opponents Netherlands apart from Chile and Australia. They start their World Cup campaign on June 13 against Netherlands.

OFFICIAL | These are the 23 players who will represent us in a DREAM to conquer the second WORLD CUP! pic.twitter.com/nLWIKMCGDD

— Selección Española (@SeFutbol) May 31, 2014

Goalkeepers:  Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), David De Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli)

Defenders: Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique and Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich),  Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

Midfielders: Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Sergio Busquets and Fabreagas (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso ( Real Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Juan Mata (Manchester United), David Silva (Manchester City)

Forwards: Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Pedro (Barcelona), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), David Villa (Atletico Madrid)

Fetching more content...