New User posted their first comment

Top 5 clubs with the maximum Ballon d'Or wins

The Ballon d
The Ballon d'Or is a signature of excellence in world football
Modified 29 Nov 2019, 04:45 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

Since its initiation in 1956, the Ballon d’Or award has always been associated with excellence. It is awarded to the best player of the previous year by France Football. Even though the award was previously adjudged by journalists alone, since 2007, coaches and captains of national teams are also part of the voting process.

Also Read: 5 Defenders who have won the Ballon d'Or

It has always been an honor to have a Ballon d’Or winner in a team. Few clubs in the world have been home to a Ballon d’Or winner, while even fewer have hosted more than 1. But who are the top 5 clubs in the world with the maximum number of Ballon d’Or wins? Read on to find out.

5. Bayern Munich (5 wins)

Franz Beckenbauer
Franz Beckenbauer

In 1966, for the first time in the history of the Ballon d’Or awards, a Bayern Munich player made it to the top 3. Franz Beckenbauer finished third with 59 points, behind Manchester United’s Bobby Charlton and Benfica’s Eusebio. It was the start of something special for the German club because, for the next few years, Bayern would feature heavily in the awards.

3 years later in 1969, it was Gerd Muller’s turn to finish third with 38 points, behind Gianni Rivera of AC Milan and Luigi Riva of Cagliari. In the following season, though, Bayern Munich would finally claim the top prize.

When the result of the 1970 Ballon d’Or was announced, it was an occasion to rejoice in Bavaria. Muller had accumulated 77 points and had beaten West Ham United’s Bobby Moore and Cagliari’s Riva to win the award.

2 years later in 1972, German sides dominated the Ballon d’Or award. Beckenbauer won the award with 81 points, while his club mate Muller and Borussia Monchengladbach’s Gunter Netzer finished joint second with 79 points.


Beckenbauer finished second for the next 2 years, before he won the award again in 1976, finishing with 91 points. After a 2 year absence, Bayern were back among the top 3 once again in 1979, with Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, who finished second with 52 points. Rummenigge then went on to win the award in the next 2 years, collecting 122 and 106 points respectively. Since then, though, Bayern Munich players have reached the top 3 on a few occasions, but the top prize has eluded them.

As of now, 3 Bayern Munich players have won the Ballon d’Or winners, 5 times in total. They are the club with the 5th most Ballon d’Or winning players.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 29 Nov 2019, 00:09 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit