Favorites Edit

Hockey Australia name World Cup probables list

2.31K   //    27 Feb 2014, 15:15 IST

Melbourne, Feb 27 (IANS) Hockey Australia (HA) Thursday announced a list of 30 probables from which the squad for the World Cup, to be played in The Hague from May 31 to June 15, will be selected.

New inclusions in the list include Australia’s Junior World Cup captain Daniel Beale, who after making his senior debut in March 2013 went on to win the Oceania Cup and compete at the World League Finals with the Kookaburras.

Beale’s Burras teammate Jeremy Hayward also makes the step up from the junior squad while Nick Budgeon and Andrew Philpott have been promoted from the development squad. Like Beale, Philpott picked up the 2013 Oceania Cup gold while Budgeon stepped in to replace the injured Chris Ciriello ahead of the World League Finals.

Though in the list, Matthew Butturini will not be available for World Cup selection due to a long term knee injury.

National Men’s Senior Squad: George Bazeley, Daniel Beale, Kiel Brown, Nick Budgeon, Matthew Butturini, Joel Carroll, Andrew Charter, Chris Ciriello, Liam De Young, Tim Deavin, Jamie Dwyer, Russell Ford, Matt Gohdes, Kieran Govers, Rob Hammond, Jeremy Hayward, Fergus Kavanagh, Mark Knowles, Tyler Lovell, Trent Mitton, Eddie Ockenden, Simon Orchard, Andrew Philpott, Glenn Simpson, Matthew Swann, Glenn Turner, Jake Whetton, Tristan White, Jason Wilson, Aran Zalewski.