Hockey World Cup: 5 most successful teams in the history of the tournament

Indian Hockey Team
Indian Hockey Team

#3 Australia

Australia won the 2014 Hockey World Cup
Australia won the 2014 Hockey World Cup

Champions of the last two editions of the World Cup and the present World Number 1, Australia has been the best hockey team in recent times. In the last two decades, they have stamped their authority on the global area.

Australia have reached the finals of the World Cup in the last four editions and won the title on two occasions. Their first title came in 1986. After that, in the next seven editions, they have managed to finish in the medals bracket six times.

In the 2018 edition, Australia is coming into the tournament as favourites ready to defend their title.

World Cup Titles: 3 (1986, 2010 and 2014); Runners-up: 2 (2002, 2006); Third Place: 4 (1978, 1982, 1990 and 1994)

Page 1

Quick Links

Edited by Ram Kumar
Be the first one to comment