Pakistan Hockey


Nick NameGreen Shirts; Green Machines

Prominent PlayersMuhammad Irfan, Munawwaruz Zaman, Tariq Mehmood, Shahbaz Ahmed


Pakistan men have an enviable record in World Cup competition, having lifted the famous trophy on a record four occasions as well as twice claiming the silver medal. The Green Shirts were victorious at the 1971, 1978, 1982 and 1994 events, with their four titles being one more than three time winners Netherlands and Australia.

Administered by the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF), the Pakistan National Hockey Team has been a member of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) since 1948 and also a founding member of the Asian Hockey Federation (ASHF) which formed in 1958. With 53 victories in 84 matches played, seven time draws, six appearances in the finals and only 24 losses, Pakistan has the best overall performance in World Cup history in both proportional and absolute terms.

Pakistan national team has played in all FIH World Cup editions with only one absence in 2014. It is a welcome return to World Cup action for this famous hockey playing nation, following their failure to qualify for the Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 which took place in The Hague, Netherlands. They will be determined to make the most of their opportunity in Bhubaneswar.

Current Roster

Here are the 19 players to be included in the Pakistan Men’s Hockey Core Team for the World Cup 2018:

Support Staff

  1. Head coach : Mr. Tauqeer Ahmad Dar
  2. Assistant coach : Muhammad Danish Kaleem, Rehan Butt
  3. Manager : Hassan Sardar

1Muhammad Irfan Sr. (Captain)Toba Tek SinghDefender (Full Back)
2Amjad AliToba Tek SinghGoalkeeper
3Imran ButtLahoreGoalkeeper
4Abu Bakar MahmoodFaisalabadDefender
5Ammad Shakeel ButtSialkotDefender
6Mubashar AliToba Tek SinghDefender(Left Full Back)
7Muhammad Aleem BilalToba Tek SinghDefender
8Muhammad Faisal QadirDera Ghazi KhanDefender
9Muhammad Rizwan Jr.GojraDefender (Half Back)
10Tasawar AbbasSargodhaDefender
11Muhammad Toseeq ArshadBahawalpurMid Fielder
12Ali ShanKasurForward (Left Out)
13Muhammad ZubairOkaraForward
14Saran Bin QamarMultanForward
15Ajaz AhmadFaisalabadStriker (Left Out)
16Muhammad Atiq ArshadToba Tek SinghStriker (Left In)
17Muhammad Rizwan Sr.Toba Tek SinghStriker (Left In)
18Muhammad Umar BhuttaBahawalpurStriker (Right In)
19Shafqat RasoolLahoreStriker

Additional Squad Players

Mazhar Abbas (goal keeper), Nawaz Ashfaq, Muhammad Atif Mushtaq, Muhammad Irfan Jr., Rashid Mahmood, Muhammad Azfar Yaqoob, Arslan Qadir.

Notable players

Muhammad Irfan, Munawwaruz Zaman, Tariq Mehmood, Shahbaz Ahmed, Tariq Imran, Tanvir Dar, Lala Abdul Rashid, Ali Iqtidar Shah Dara, Munir Dar, Jack Britto, Aleem Raza, Tariq Aziz, Sohail Abbas, Mansoor Ahmed, Ahmed Alam, Haider Hussain, Hassan Sardar, Samiullah Khan, Kaleemullah Khan, Shahid Ali Khan, Manzoor Hussain, Maqsood Hussain, Mahmood Hussain, Shahnaz Sheikh, Mohammed Saqlain, Zeeshan Ashraf, Muhammad Waqas, Nasir Ali, Tariq Sheikh, Zakir Hussain, Saleem Sherwani, Asif Bajwa, Kamran Ashraf, Islah-ud-din, Waseem Feroz, Anis Ahmed, Zahid , irzada, Hanif Khan, Naseer Bunda, Akhtar Rasool, Rehan Butt, Saeed Anwar, Khalid Mahmood, Shakeel Abbasi, Muhammad Rizwan Jr., Khalid Hamid.

Fetching more content...