Favorites Edit

Preparatory camp for senior men probables for FIH Hockey World Cup 2014 to begin in Delhi on 9 March 2014

2.81K   //    04 Mar 2014, 13:21 IST

FIH Hockey World League

New Delhi, 4 March 2014: In preparations for the FIH Hockey World Cup to be held at The Hague, Netherlands from 31 May-15 June 2014, the training camp of the senior men core probables will commence at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, Delhi from 9 March 2014.

The 33 senior men core probables were shortlisted for the camp by Mr. Roelant Oltmans, Director High Performance, Mr. Terry Walsh, Chief Coach Senior Men Hockey Team and Mr. Harbinder Singh Government Observer during a meeting held on 25 February 2014. A month long preparatory camp of the senior men core probables will continue till 10 April 2014.

India is placed in Pool A of the FIH Hockey World Cup 2014 with Australia, England, Belgium, Spain and Malaysia. India will open its campaign against Belgium on 31 May 2014 followed by matches against England on 2 June, Spain on 5 June, Malaysia on 7 June and Australia on 9 June 2014.

Indian Senior Men Hockey team finished in sixth place while competing against the top teams of the World in the recently concluded Hero Hockey World League Final at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi.

The year 2014 includes other major events for the National Men hockey team including XX Commonwealth Games in Glasgow (Scotland) from 23 July- 3 August, 17th Asian Games in Incheon (Korea) from 19 September-4 October and 35th FIH Men’s Champions Trophy in Bhubaneswar in 2014.

The List of Probables is as under:

1.  PR Sreejesh
2.  Harjot Singh
3.  Sushant Tirkey
4.  Gurbaj Singh
5.  Rupinder Pal Singh
6.  V R Raghunath
7.  Birendra Lakra
8.  Gurmail Singh
9.  Kothajit Singh Khadangbam
10. Gurjinder Singh
11. Gurinder Singh
12. Sandeep Singh
13. Vikram Kanth

14. S K Uthappa
15. Dharamvir Singh
16. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam
17. Sardar Singh
18. Manpreet Singh
19. Danish Mujtaba
20. Satbir Singh
21. Devinder Sunil Walmiki
22. Vikas Pillay
23. Jasjit Singh

24. Nikkin Thimmaiah
25. Nithin Thimmaiah
26. S V Sunil
27. Mandeep Singh
28. Akashdeep Singh
29. Ramandeep Singh
30. Affan Yousuf
31. Yuvraj Walmiki
32. Talwinder Singh
33. Lalit Upadhyay