ISL Golden Glove Winners

Last Modified Nov 24, 2021 17:10 IST

With a total of 10 Clean Sheets to his name, Arindam Bhattacharya of ATK Mohun Bagan was awarded the ISL Golden Glove in 2020-21.

ISL Golden Glove Winners

SeasonPlayerTeamClean SheetsMinutes Per Goal Conceded
2020-21Arindam BhattacharyaATK Mohun Bagan10108.95
2019-20Gurpreet Singh SandhuBengaluru FC11122.14
2018-19Gurpreet Singh SandhuBengaluru FC796.32
2017-18Subrata PaulJamshedpur FC8102.4
2016Amrinder SinghMumbai City FC5180
2015Apoula Edel BeteFC Pune City690
2014Jan SedaFC Goa6143.3

Indian Super League had started on 12th October 2014, and the Golden Glove award was given to the best goalkeeper of India’s top football league. We will take a look at the past winners of the award.

Pawan Kumar

Having previously represented a whole host of ISL clubs including Bengaluru FC, Chennaiyin FC and Mumbai City FC, Pawan Kumar made a name for himself at NorthEast United FC. The Indian shot-stopper was the standout performer for The Highlanders last season as they made the playoff stage for the first time in their history. Under Eelco Schattorie, NorthEast United scaled new heights and were one of the most exciting teams in the division, with Pawan Kumar one of the mainstays of the team. In a league that has seen the likes of Subrata Pal and Gurpreet Singh Sandhu make headlines, Pawan Kumar has established himself as a reliable figure between the sticks and will look to carry on from where he left off last season. The 29-year-old registered seven clean sheets last season and conceded a goal every 88.9 minutes, an impressive tally.

Subrata Paul

Indian goalkeeping icon Subrata Paul leads the charts for most number of clean-sheets in the league. The most capped keeper in the league, Subrata has been a quality keeper for both club and country in his long and illustrious career. His individual honor came in the 2017-18 season when he was the custodian for Jamshedpur FC. The new club in the ISL just missed out on the play-off berth, and the veteran’s performance between the sticks was a crucial part of their near-perfect journey in their debut season. The Steelers keeper played 18 matches and kept 7 clean sheets, the most by a ‘keeper in ISL history. Conceding a goal every 102.3 minutes, Paul boasted excellent numbers. The Indian goalkeeper continues to be an inspiration for youngsters.

Amrinder Singh

The first Indian to win this award, Amrinder Singh’s short, but effective performance for Mumbai City FC propelled the club to a top spot finish in the league. In 6 matches he conceded 3 and kept 5 clean sheets with an amazing 180 minute per goal ratio. The lanky Punjabi ‘keeper was good in catching the ball in the air, thwarting the set pieces of the opponents with elan. The Indian international is only 25, and has a huge career left ahead of him, if he keeps on performing like this.

Apoula Edel

The Cameroon born Armenian international had quite a resume when Atletico de Kolkata had roped in him during the first season. The ex-PSG (yes, you have read that right), Hapoel Tel Aviv keeper had made 9 appearances in his first season for the Kolkata club. The next season, he signed with eventual champions Chennaiyin FC and played an extremely crucial role in their winning run. In 13 matches, he had kept 6 clean sheets, conceded 13 and made 37 saves. It meant that Edel had won two titles in his first two years in ISL. That is quite a record. The Armenian international has strong reflexes and his ball-playing ability make him a truly modern-day goalkeeper.

Jan Seda

The Czech shot-stopper was taken in by FC Goa on a season-long loan from FK Mlada Boleslav, and the 6 ft 2 goalie had an immediate impact on the tournament. He had kept 6 clean sheets in the tournament, made 42 saves, conceded 9 goals in 14 matches and conceded a goal in every 143.3 minutes. These exceedingly good numbers in goal propelled Goa to finish 2nd in the league and qualify for the play-offs. He was fearless while coming out off his line, and made some fine saves in tight situations. Jan Seda has only played one season in the ISL, but his name will be remembered for being the first ever recipient of the Golden Glove Award in the ISL.