Favorites Edit

Pro Kabaddi League 2018: List of teams qualified for the playoffs 

Top 5 / Top 10
18.63K   //    29 Dec 2018, 19:15 IST

A total of six teams have qualified for the playoffs
A total of six teams have qualified for the playoffs

The extravagant Pro Kabaddi League season 6, which commenced on the 7th of October, is now about to witness the fiercest matches in the history of PKL as the playoff week is just about to kick-off. Teams will face some serious competition in the remaining matches.

Twelve franchises from all across the nation toiled hard to clinch the celebrated trophy of PKL. Each team was given a specific place either in Zone A or B, out of which only top three teams from each of the zones have qualified for the playoffs.

This season has been pretty much a shocker for everyone. Fans saw veteran players like Anup Kumar and Jasmer Singh Gulia bid adieu to PKL and professional Kabaddi. Patna Pirates not qualifying for the playoffs for the first time in five seasons was equally stupefying news.

Pawan Sehrawat, the wizard from the South, has surpassed Pardeep Narwal in the best raiders' list. Dabang Delhi, who was famous for being on the table bottom, displayed a gobsmacking game and qualified for the playoffs for the very first time in the history of PKL.

After almost three months of working their fingers to the bone, here is a detailed list of teams who have made their way to the playoffs.

Zone A:

#1. Gujarat Fortune Giants

Gujarat Fortune Giants made a cracking debut last season.
Gujarat Fortune Giants made a cracking debut last season.

These Gujarati Chokros from Gujarat Fortune Giants made a cracking debut in season 5 and played the finals against Patna Pirates. Giving us a repeat performance this season, the Giants have again qualified for the playoffs that too on the top of their group table.

Everybody was unsure of Manpreet Singh's team selection as there was a lack of experience in the team. Some new youngsters were introduced but nobody expected them to perform.

Considering some stats here, Gujarat has won a total of 17 matches out of 22 with just three losses! An amazing feat indeed, they have won the most number of matches in PKL 6.


Talking of players, a special mention should be given to Sachin, who is pretty much similar to the "cricket waala Sachin" performance wise, Mahendra Ganesh Rajput, the iconic duo of Parvesh Bhainswal and Sunil Kumar, Ruturaj Koravi, Ajay Kumar, Dong Geon Lee, K. Prapanjan and Hadi Ostorak.

Every member has played with utmost excellence this season. They totally deserved a place in the playoffs and might end up winning the league as well!

1 / 6 NEXT
Fetching more content...