Bengal Warriors


Full NameBengal Warriors


GroundNetaji Indoor Stadium, Kolkata

Team Owner(s)Birthright Games & Entertainment (Akshay Kumar)

Prominent PlayersManinder Singh


Bengal Warriors is a professional Kabaddi team which participates in Pro Kabaddi League, a professional Indian kabaddi league. The team is based in Kolkata, West Bengal and was founded in 2014 with the inception of Pro Kabaddi League.

Bengal Warriors play their home games in Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Indoor Stadium, a famous stadium with capacity of 12000 people. The place has also hosted a WTA Tour tennis tournament and other famous International events.

The Bengal based Kabaddi team is currently being coached by Jagdish Kumble who is a professional Kabaddi player himself. He was also a part of Indian Kabaddi Team which won a gold medal in the 2002 Asian Games.


The Bengal Warriors share “Bengal ka Tiger” as their tagline. Their logo which has a face of tiger and tagline, represent a warrior's spirit which plays to rule and soleby believes in it’s deeds.

Bengal warriors are co-owned by Future Group and Indian celebrity Akshay Kumar. Future Group is an Indian conglomerate, headquartered in Mumbai. The co-owners have strong hold on the City of Joy, and is committed to developing the Kabaddi infrastructure in West Bengal. The owners are working in sync with West Bengal unit of AKFI and the West Bengal Sports Ministry to promote the game in the state at grass roots level.

Trajectory in the PKL

The Bengal Warriors started the PKL on a low key and did not even qualify to the top four in the first two seasons of Pro Kabaddi League. However, the team managed to make it to the qualifiers after earning the fourth spot on the league table in the 2016 PKL season. The team made several changes to its rooster after the season and changed its defensive approach to the game.

In the 2017 PKL, Bengal continued to strive harder and were the top team in Zone B. The team was close to winning the PKL for the first time but was unfortunately were defeated by Patna Pirates by 44-47 in the qualifiers 2.

Low Points

Bengal Warriors finished seventh in the debut season of the PKL which was one their worst ever performances in the league. Captain Surjeet Singh couldn't really pull the team to important victories. The team also had a defensive mindset which did not help in getting the right results.

The team again crumbled in the June edition of the 2016 PKL. They were unable to settle and lost most of their games, finishing the season as the last team on the table.

Team Players

Player NameCountryPosition
Maninder Singh (C)IndianRaider
Ravindra Ramesh KumawatIndianRaider
Rishank DevadigaIndianRaider
Sukesh HegdeIndianRaider
Sumit SinghIndianRaider
Akash PikalmundeIndianRaider
Rinku NarwalIndianDefender
Abozar MohajerIraniDefender
Vijin ThangaduraiIndianDefender
Rohit BanneIndianDefender
Darshan JIndianDefender
Sachin VittalaIndianDefender
Vishal ManeIndianDefender
Mohammad Esmaeil NabibakhshIraniAll-Rounder
Ran SinghIndianAll-Rounder
Manoj Gowda KIndianAll-Rounder

Major Players for the PKL 2021

This season we will see players Rinku Narwal, Parveen, Manoj Gowda K, Ran Singh and Vishal Mane joining the Bengal warriors. Having New players in any season will be a bit of a challenge but with experienced players like Maninder Singh, Rishank Devadiga and Ravindra Ramesh Kumawat this team can bring competition and challenge.

Maninder Singh had played exceptionally well in the 2017 season of PKL. He has also been retained by the Warriors for his display of skill and brilliance.

YearPositionMatches PlayedWinsLostTieWin %Final Result
20147th1449128.57142857Group Stages/7th
20156th1449128.57142857Group Stages/6th
2016 (Jan)4th1495064.28571429Playoffs/4th
2016 (June)8th1439221.42857143Group Stages/8th
20171st22115650Qualifier 1/ 1st in Zone B
20185th22128254.545454555th in Zone B

Fetching more content...