Favorites Edit

Top 5 Cricket World Cup finals of all time

Ravi Trivedi
Top 5 / Top 10
29.72K   //    Timeless

Australia and New Zealand will take each other on in the final of the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup on Sunday. This will be the first ever trans-Tasman World Cup final. While the Kiwis have been unbeaten on their way to the final, the Aussies have lost just one game, in the group stage against New Zealand.However, going into the final, Australia have a lot of momentum on their side, having beaten India convincingly in the 2nd semi-final. Moreover, they will also enjoy home advantage as the match will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), the Mecca of Australian cricket.With the final being the most awaited game of the tournament, we decided to look back at some of the memorable finals that have been played over the years. 

#5 India vs Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium, 2011 World Cup

Pre-tournament favourites India and Sri Lanka took on each other in the final of the 2011 World Cup at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. In a game worthy of a final, India beat their neighbours by 6 wickets and lifted the World Cup trophy for the second time in their history, thereby becoming the first host nation to win the World Cup.

After winning the toss, Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara opted to bat first. The Indian bowlers, led by the inspirational Zaheer Khan, bowled some tight lines as runs were hard to come by. The fielders threw themselves around to save every run as they complemented the bowlers brilliantly. While wickets fell around him, Mahela Jayawardene made his way to a strokeful 103 off just 88 balls. Lusty blows down the order from Nuwan Kulasekara and Thisara Perera powered the Lankans to 274/6 in 50 overs.   

After losing openers Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar with just 31 on the board, Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli steadied India’s chase with an 83-run partnership. However, Dilshan took a brilliant return catch to dismiss Kohli which pegged India back. Much to everyone’s surprise, Indian captain MS Dhoni promoted himself ahead of in-form batsman Yuvraj Singh. He then added 109 runs for the fourth wicket with Gambhir as the Men in Blue inched closer. After Gambhir’s dismissal, Dhoni took charge of the chase and took his team home in the company of Yuvraj.  

Result – India win by 6 wickets

Man of the Match – MS Dhoni

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Ravi Trivedi
Big time cricket,football and tennis fan, Love Team India,Manchester United and Roger Federer
Fetching more content...