Middlesbrough Football


Full NameMiddlesbrough

Nick NameThe Boro


GroundRiverside Stadium

Team Owner(s)Steve Gibson

Prominent PlayersStewart Downing, John Obi Mikel


Middlesbrough Football Club is a professional football club based in Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire, England. They are currently competing in the EFL Championship, the second tier of English football. The club was founded in 1876 and they have played their home matches at Riverside Stadium since 1995. The Riverside Stadium was incidentally their third ground since turning professional in 1889. Earlier, they played for 21 years at the Linthorpe Road ground from 1882 to 1903 and at Ayresome Park for 92 years, from 1903 to 1995.

The club was one of the founding members of the Premier League in 1992. Unfortunately, they also become one of the teams to be relegated in the league's first season itself.

Middlesbrough have rarely laid their hands on silverware with their League Cup triumph 2004 representing the only major trophy the club has ever won. However, the club did make the UEFA Cup final in 2006 when they fell at the final hurdle to Sevilla.

The club is nicknamed 'The Boro' and they play their home games in their traditional red and white kit. The club is currently managed by Tony Pulis.

Fetching more content...