Sylhet Sixers



GroundSylhet International Stadium

Prominent PlayersDavid Warner, Andre Fletcher, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sabbir Rahman


Sylhet Sixers(SS), owned by Sylhet Sports Limited is a cricket franchise that competes in The Bangladesh Premier League(BPL). They play their home matches at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

In the 2019 BPL season, they will be led by David Warner while Waqar Younis will take charge as the head coach of the team.


The Sylhet based franchise was first established in 2012 as the Sylhet Royals. After two years, they were renamed as the Sylhet Super Stars. The Super Stars lasted only till 2017, when Bangladesh’s former finance minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith along with Sylhet Sports Limited bought the franchise and subsequently named them “Sylhet Sixers”.

The Sylhet Sixers played their first match in the PBL against Barisal Burners(Currently : Barisal Bulls), and tasted their first victory against Duronto Rajshahi.


In the starting few seasons of the PBL, The Sixers were led by star batsman Mushfiqur Rahim who was supported by Zimbabwean greats, Elton Chigumbura and Hamilton Masakadza. Andre Russell and Dirk Nannes were few other notable names in the team, which also had a fair share of young talent in the likes of Rubel Hossain and Mominul Haque.

The franchise probably made the best signing of the BPL when they roped in Australian cricketer David Warner, ahead of the players draft. Warner will be playing his first BPL and he has also been named captain for this edition. Nicolas Pooran and Andre Fletcher were in outstanding form during the T10 league and will add to the batting firepower. The team has a strong bowling lineup with couple of crafty overseas leg spinners, Sandeep Lamichhane and Imran Tahir.

Prominent Achievements

The Sylhet Sixers, known for their fearless form of cricket, had their most successful season in 2013, when the team qualified for the playoffs. They hold the record for the highest successful run chase after chasing 198 against Rangpur Raiders.

The players of the team have also been responsible for a lot of individual records. The captain, Mushfiqur, ended up being the highest run getter in the 2013 edition and also had the most number of dismissals that season. He also holds the record for the most dismissals in the history of the league.

Club Trajectory

The Sylhet Sixers had a disastrous first season in which they finished last, winning just two matches in the entire season. Their BPL campaign was moderately successful after they brought in veterans Mushfiqur Rahim, Masakadza, Chigumbura and Dirk Nannes the next season, where they qualified for the playoffs.

In 2015, the team performed inconsistently again, winning just three matches out of their 10. To add to their existing problems, the team was suspended in the following season due to payment irregularities and disciplinary issues. The team made its BPL debut as “Sylhet Sixers” in 2017. They had a promising start to their campaign, however, they failed to make it to the top-four spot.

David Warner will lead Sylhet Sixers in the sixth season of the Bangladesh Premier League. Warner was one of Sylhet's two direct overseas picks along with Nepal's Sandeep Lamichhane. The Sixers have also appointed former Pakistan skipper Waqar Younis as their head coach for the next two editions of the tournament.

YearRankCaptainTop BatsmanTop BowlerWin%
20126thPeter TregoKamran Akmal (356)Sohail Tanvir (13)20
20133rdMushfiqur RahimMushfiqur Rahim (440)Mohammad Nabi (18)64.29
20155thMushfiqur RahimDilshan Munaweera (173)Mohammad Shahid (14)30
20175thLiton DasAndre Fletcher (317)Nasir Hossain (12)33.33
Fetching more content...