Team Champions


Full NameTeam Champions

Nick NameChampions


Team Owner(s)Vamcy Merla, Subhakar Rao

Prominent PlayersDean Mascarenhas, Druva Chandrashekar, Bopaiah Kongettira, Suhem Kabeer


Team Champions is a professional rally team based out of India and owned by the Champions Group. The team was founded in the year 2018 and currently competes in the Indian National Rally Championship and the national autocross events.

The INRC series has been facing the shortage of manufacturer / works team ( Mahindra Adventure being the only manufacturer team) since the exit of Indian Motorsport giants JK Tyre Motorsport and Team MRF Racing from the sport. The Championship mainly consists a large number of mostly self funded private drivers and smaller private teams before the inception of Team Champions.

The team competes in the INRC-1, INRC-2, INRC-3, FMSCI 2 & 4 wheel drive classes. The private team has become India's single largest Rally team with a record 16 cars at the Coffee Day Rally 2018, Chikmagalur.

Former National Champions Dean Mascarenhas, Druva Chandrashekar, Suhem Kabeer and Adith K.C joined the team along with Bopaiah Kongettira, Michu Ganapathy and Lokesh Gowda.

The team's rally car line up mainly consists of Volkswagen Polos, Honda City Vtec, and Maruti Gypsy's. The technical support and rally service for Team Champions is provided by the Tuner's Mr. Raj Nagaraj of (Bro's Racing, Bangalore) and Mr. Thyagu of (Chettinad sporting, Coimbatore).

The rally team performed exceptionally well in all the rounds of 2018 INRC season bagging three podiums at Coimbatore, four at Arunachal Pradesh, seven at Chikamagalur and six at the season finale Kochi.

Team Champions have won the most number of podiums in the 2018 INRC Season.

Article image

Go to article
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now