Coco Gauff's ex-coach questions key moment in Carlos Alcaraz's win vs Jannik Sinner in French Open final after controversial line call

2025 French Open - Day Fifteen - Source: Getty
Carlos Alcaraz and Jannik Sinner at the 2025 French Open - Image Source: Getty

Carlos Alcaraz and Jannik Sinner's titanic battle featured a controversial line call that made Coco Gauff's ex-coach Brad Gilbert question the credibility of line judges at the French Open. The tournament famously refrained from using Hawkeye in the tournament, keeping its traditions alive in this edition as well.

Ad

The accuracy of Hawkeye has been contentious on clay surfaces as compared to grass or hard courts, which has been one of the reasons that the tournament has refrained from allowing the usage of the technology at Roland Garros. However, its absence was condemned in tense situations, like in the sixth game of the final set, where Sinner was confused as to why Alcaraz's shot wasn't called out by the line judges.

Ad

A replay of the same confirmed that it was well out and by a significant distance.

Gilbert, who coached Gauff from 2023-24, lashed out at the decision by the umpires that could possibly have affected the course of the match. He took to X and wrote:

"It’s insanity there not using hawkeye that serv[e] was clearly out."
Ad

He further suggested that this should be a calling for the tournament to introduce a more reliable form of line-calling technology in the coming editions.

"Hopefully this will be last time they use human eye vs Hawkeye"
Ad

The match ended with Carlos Alcaraz winning 4-6, 6-7, 6-4, 7-6, 7-6. However, the duo showed incredible sportsmanship, even pointing out line-call errors during the match.


Carlos Alcaraz and Jannik Sinner's show of sportsmanship

Carlos Alcaraz and Jannik Sinner at the 2025 French Open - Image Source: Getty
Carlos Alcaraz and Jannik Sinner at the 2025 French Open - Image Source: Getty

In the second set of the match, Jannik Sinner had an unreturnable serve called out by the line judges. But Carlos Alcaraz pointed out that it was an ace, giving Sinner a point which he was able to convert into a lead.

Towards the end of the fourth set, Sinner was seen gesturing to umpire Eva Asderaki that Alcaraz's forehand return on the baseline was wrongly called out by the line judge.

Quick Links

Edited by Pritha Ghosh
Sportskeeda logo
Close menu
WWE
WWE
NBA
NBA
NFL
NFL
MMA
MMA
Tennis
Tennis
NHL
NHL
Golf
Golf
MLB
MLB
Soccer
Soccer
F1
F1
WNBA
WNBA
More
More
bell-icon Manage notifications